We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go if you are looking for quality”
Review of Chez Charlot

Chez Charlot
Ranked #270 of 2,430 Restaurants in Corsica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Zurich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go if you are looking for quality”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Restaurant has a beautiful terrasse with view, that'all.
Too long to be service (3 hours for 3 plates), food not of quality (sorry I am Italian with long experience of Corsica), perfect for tourist to smell from distance what is the real "cucina Corsa": price is even to high for what you get.
I will not suggest to anybody

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    76
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic, regional quality”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a humble but lovely, family-run restaurant in a village high on the slopes overlooking Propriano, which itself is a little of a tourist trap. We seemed to be the only non-locals, which is a great sign. There is an adjoining bar which was populated by chatting friends and neighbours, which felt like a community focal point. The terrace over the road has stunning sunset views. The service was friendly, but little English is spoken and I would suggest being fairly sure of your French (or Corsican!) before going. Pretty much all traditional Corsican fare on the menu, but there are more "modern" kids options, e.g. spaghetti bolognese and hache steak with frittes (both huge and ample for our 5 and 7 year olds). I had a huge Corsican soup (veg, shredded meat in a thick broth) to start and then a rabbit casserole for mains. My wife had a meat terrine to start and then essentially a regional version of coq au vin. All dishes were delicious. We did not book, but I would suggest you would need to in July/August, especially on a Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bishfact0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, england
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for real quality”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staying in a nearby villa, called in for a drink , people polite and helpful, restaurant menu looked good so booked for lunch. The view from the deck is very impressive but a little too windy that day so ate inside. The 4 course set lunch with choices was magnificent - I had fish soup,rabbit,cheese followed by creme caramel and was superb and for less than 19 Euros !!.The three others went a la carte and were impressed by their gambas,duck and spaggetti carbonara (!), top wine price was 16 Euros. Good quality french food served in a simple setting by a most obliging waitress. The dining experience we all yearn for in France and dont always find. Total bill for 4 with a bottle of wine less than 90 Euros. I would much rather drive 15 minutes from Propiano and enjoy true french cooking than paying a premium in town and risking disappointment which is often the sad truth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Real French cooking!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Dinner for two, restaurant was full and we were the only English people there. Had our aperetif on the terrace which has fabulous views of Propriano bay. The menu was very typical French country cooking. Good choice at all courses. Carafe of Corsican wine was just 5 Euros and the 3 course menu was outstanding value at 19 euros each. I had stuffed artichoke hearts and amazing wild Corsican pig in a rich wine sauce. The menu stated cheese or fruit but we were in fact brought both - the cheese was outstanding. Digestif of local firewater was offered (but we declined!)
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Little gem of a restaurant with outstanding view”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have visited Chez Charlot twice during our stay in Propriano and on both occasions have found this restaurant to be absolutely fabulous. It is worth booking in advance as it does get very busy with locals and tourists alike. If the locals utilise it, then it must be good! Request a table overlooking the bay as the view is stunning and the sunset glorious.
The food is predominantly local Corsican cuisine but the menu is wide and varied, so should suit everyone's taste. The waiting staff are extremely attentive and on the second time we visited, we received additional food and drinks at no extra cost - for no reason other than they had recognised us from our previous visit.
One word of caution - they don't take credit cards.....!!!!! But apart from that, it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Charlot also viewed

Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Olmeto, Corse-du-Sud
 
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Olmeto, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Chez Charlot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing