We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Sun Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sun Beach
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here July 2013. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, air conditioning worked well. We don't spend much time in the hotel room, (out seeing what there is to see, and there was plenty to see and do in the area) so the rooms don't need to be fancy for us. Food in restaurant was good. Only complaint was that wi-fi was only available in the lobby.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    32
    45
    31
    16
See reviews for
23
61
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I suppose this place gets it’s 3 stars because it is air conditioned and has a pool. The rooms were dreadfully furnished - 1960’s Ikea furniture that looks like it has never been upgraded. There is free internet but it only works in the lobby. Limited parking on site - but at least it is complimentary. This hotel is good example of how misleading the Hotel star system is in France, as the property gets points for the amenities provided rather than the quality of the product.

We booked two rooms for 4 adults and two children as many of the better Ajecco hotels would not accept an internet booking for children! We booked an overnight stay as we were booked on the 8 am ferry to Nice and had just spent a week in the Porto Vecchio area, a three hour drive away.

Yes the hotel is close to the sea but Sun Beach is the worst beach that we saw in all of Corsica and the ambiance of the mausoleums next door was not complimentary. I suspect the accommodation in some of these burial chambers was superior to the Sun Beach rooms.

We had mountain view rooms away from the main road but still were disturbed by traffic noise. there was also a single long pillow for the double bed that combined with the noise resulted in a very poor sleep.

The hotel is not convenient to the town center or the ferry terminals and is a 17 Euro cab ride away at 7 am on a Sunday.

Note that the “official website” pictures tend to overstate the furnishing in the rooms but more accurately reflect the common areas. The only bright spots was the very cheerful and helpful receptionist whom spoke perfect English and the room was clean.

I would suggest that travelers give this place a miss unless all the better hotels are booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ajaccio hotels

Ajaccio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

When we checked in we were given the wrong room but after contacting reception we were given a free room upgrade. The air conditioning In the room worked very well. The staff were all very helpful and the food in the restaurant arrived quickly and was very tasty. The only issue we found was that the wifi is only available on the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for three nights in July 2012. The service was good, the rooms were clean, of good size and each of them accommodated three beds (a queen/king and a twin) so that the nine of us were very comfortable. Our verandas faced the pool (very nice) and sea (beautiful). Just down the walk street is a bakery and a monoprix where we were able to enjoy freshly made baguettes and croissants for breakfast along with cafe creme.

The hotel is not far from town and we did take our nine seater in on the three evenings, but we found free parking without a problem at about six in the evening. Some of us walked the distance without a problem. We loved Ajaccio! Have a good time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Sea and stay on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylorhedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2010. I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Ajaccio for a couple of nights so I could look around town before heading into the mountains for some walking. It was very difficult to find anywhere to stay at this time anywhere near Ajaccio. The Hotel Sun Beach was the only place that came near. It is a 40 minute brisk walk along the coast to town & there are regular buses but only during the day. After about 7.30 you will need a taxi or to walk. The surrounding area is very quiet, on one side is a large graveyard & the other mainly empty holiday apartment blocks so you should get a good nights sleep. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool & a good sized terrace outside a bar on one side and the restaurant on the other which was a pleasant place to eat & drink. The restaurant does an ok breakfast & reasonable evening meals with local entertainment on one night I was there. The bedrooms are pretty bleak. Clean enough with functional but basic bathroom but the bedroom area has cheap nasty fixtures & fittings with no attempt at trying to make it a pleasant living space. The bed was fine & sleeping was not a problem. There is no wifi & the tv was not functioning so bring your own entertainment. The balcony was a pleasant place to sit & catch up on the vacation reading. The price was 100 Euro per night including breakfast which for Ajaccio is pretty cheap. The hotel was quite busy with coach parties usually staying for one night, but it did create a bit of atmosphere. The staff were quite reserved but ok especially if you spoke a little French. Two young receptionists who alternated the day shift spoke good English.
So in summary if you do not mind a brisk walk along the coast to town or using the local bus service it is an ok place to spend a couple of days to take in the sites of Ajaccio, beyond that & I suggest you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TousTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

122€ for : big concrete box, way, way out of town, dirty, threadbare carpet, saggy beds, most basic sub-IKEA furniture, view over similar concrete boxes, and clients mostly coach-loads of retirees. Well, I'm a retiree myself, but....
I might just give this place 1 star, not the 3 it boasts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We booked the Sun Beach hotel, in a hurry, because we thought it would be on the beach - it is not! The pool is lovely, clean and well situated, the lady receptionist is delightful and offered us a lot of helpful advice on beaches to visit and restaurants to eat at in the evenings. The male receptionist is not helpful almost rude, grumpy and grudging, I think he would have preferred it if we hadnt been there. The rooms are disappointing scruffy and tired, the bed was only just 18" off the ground, very low and uncomfortable. All the time we were there we were troubled with endless coach loads of foreign visitors staying at the hotel, they were noisy and had no respect for anyone who was not on their coach. Fortunately they had their own dining room and our was seperate from the noise. I would not like to go back to this hotel ever again. We did find lovely beaches away from the crowds and enjoyed ourselves when we werent at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Pinede
Hotel La Pinede
#17 of 28 in Ajaccio
149 reviews
3.8 mi away
Campo Dell'Oro
Campo Dell'Oro
#16 of 28 in Ajaccio
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#4 of 28 in Ajaccio
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Castel Vecchio
Hotel Castel Vecchio
#20 of 28 in Ajaccio
209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Golfe
Hotel du Golfe
#24 of 28 in Ajaccio
168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Beach

Property: Hotel Sun Beach
Address: route des Sanguinaires, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sun Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sun Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Beach Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing