We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishment needed”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night in July.

Positives:
The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the night receptionist was a very pleasant old man who suggested a very good restaurant for us. Furthermore we were able to park our car in the hotel garage for an extra €10. The location was central.

Negatives:
The room was on the 7th (top) floor, and a refurbishment was well overdue. The floor had a carpet which seemed to be from the 70s, there was a hole in the bathroom door, and the bathroom was not very inviting - it seemed like nothing had been done in there since the 70s either. There was a bathtub with a shower option, but no shower curtain, resulting in a very wet bathroom after showering.

There was minimal insulation between rooms, so we could more or less hear the conversations in the next room.

All in all I would have expected a lot more from a 3 star hotel. Based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor I was very disappointed by the standards of this hotel and would not recommend it or stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be convenient as a base to explore Ajaccio. It is helpful that they have a parking garage (10 euro a day) just around the corner from the hotel, but you really don't need a car to see the city. The reception and check-in was fine and on check-out they booked a taxi for us which arrived a little late. The room itself was somewhat dark and not as nice as those shown on the website, but still okay. There was quite a long way from the small lift to the room with corners and steps at different levels which was a bit awkward with luggage. We didn't use the restaurant since there were plenty of nearby bakeries for breakfast. The location is very central but tucked down a side street so not too noisy. If you are just looking for somewhere convenient to stay it is fine, but not really the place for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are as large or light as on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Positives:
- Good location close to shopping streets and old city
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Clean and comfortable rooms/bathrooms

Negatives:
- It sounded like a river flowing through our room whenever bathrooms in neighbouring rooms were used. Also some noise from the hallway.
- Breakfast OK, but not worth the price. Several good bakeries nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggogbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel Napoleon was a very nice hotel in Ajaccio. The room was spotless, however very small; but we weren't surprised by that. It was very affordable and provided a very good cost to quality experience. The reception area was very helpful and for the most part very pleaseant. We didn't choose to have breakfast at the hotel, as we enjoyed going to the open air markets and getting fruit and pastries from the pastry shops. I did however enjoy several cups of the hotel's cappuccino in the morning, and that was delicious.
While in Ajaccio, the jazz festival was going on and that was a real bonus. Lots of fun! Also, we visited the house where Napoleon was born and that was enjoyable. Ajaccio is a busy but prettty port city. And we would highly recommend Hotel Napoleon.

Room Tip: Nice rooms at affordable prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grams98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

To be honest, this was not our first pick. We wen to the hotel by the citadel but they didn't have parking (our room at Napoleon was much better and the price was comparable). Other hotels were not open or just didn't meet our needs.

BUT, Hotel Napoleon should have been our First Choice. And they had parking, which is much needed in Ajaccio. The rooms on the lower floors needed some updating but for a about 12 Euros more the rooms on the higher flloors were beautiful and modern. Big comfy King/Twin bed (so it made the room feel a bit small but we didn't mind), great shower, towel warmers. Super clean. We had one facing the garden above citrus trees and it was so blissfully quiet. The reception staff were knowledgeable and so kind. We didn't eat at the hotel; we were so central and since there were many restaurants and cafes nearby, we walked everywhere. Every city and town should have a hotel like this. Really enjoyed Ajaccio.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This hotel represents best value: the staff are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much bother. English spoken.
The price out of season was very good, the room clean and comfortable with modern en-suite.
Breakfast buffet sets you up for the day.
So good an experience we booked in again for our return journey. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trips21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Clean and very centrally located. The staff was helpful with some (minimal) English. Great breakfast buffet. Free WiFi. Room was a bit small but had a nice bathroom with a good sized tub and bidet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJETSETTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ajaccio
Mercure Ajaccio
#11 of 28 in Ajaccio
537 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
#6 of 28 in Ajaccio
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: 4 rue Lorenzo Vero | Bp 28, 20181 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
#3 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napoleon 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people interested in sight seeing and business travel,Hotel Napoleon located in Ajaccio city center,a few steps away from congress meeting place,combines expected comfort of a three star,attractiveness and services of a provincial hotel: Sound proof and air conditioned bedrooms,digital channels TV,canal +,free wifi access,individual safe,hair dryer. Open all the year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Ajaccio
Hotel Napoleon Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing