We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel by the Sea”
Review of Hotel Les Mouettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Mouettes
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel by the Sea”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a magnificent quality hotel right by the sea on the outskirts of Ajaccio which has an aura of real class and old world charm. From the moment you enter the door you are transported into a bygone age of peace and tranquillity. It was built around 1880 and is quite old fashioned but in a good way. For example you get proper sheets and blankets – no duvets in this establishment, although if you asked for one I suspect it would be supplied. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming staff. There is also free internet use and wifi.
The beds in our twin room, however, were quite narrow and short and I think a tall person could have difficulties. The rooms are very clean and beautifully furnished and some of the more expensive ones have lovely spacious terraces overlooking the blue waters of Golfe D’Ajaccio. The bathrooms are spacious and our room had a walk in shower but no bath. Very good quality towels are changed daily and bathrobes are provided. There is a good sized swimming pool surrounded by exotic plants and shrubs, and a hot tub. The private beach has sun umbrellas and lie out beds and is kept spotlessly clean. The water is turquoise blue and very inviting on a hot summers day.
All members of staff are charming and helpful. On the day of our departure we had to get an early morning flight and the hotel specially arranged for a full breakfast to be made available for us.
The chief drawback is there is no restaurant. There is a good fish restaurant next door but it has a fairly limited menu and sometimes you want to eat in the hotel. It does have some cold dishes available until eight in the evening but no hot meals. Breakfast is served outside in a spectacular setting overlooking the sea and is very good although I would prefer a little more choice. The hotel has its own small car park which can be a bit tricky entering and leaving.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for its charm and serenity. But for the fact it has no restaurant it would have got a top five star rating.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must. Get one with a large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    125
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
68
374
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

All the previous positive feedback is quite accurate. Friendly efficient establishment prepared to give a very personal service, for example an out of hours breakfast when we were catching an early morning ferry. Make sure you have a room overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The first week in room number 15 my mother and I were satisfied with the hotel in general, but when we moved to room 25 ( for reasons of booking), we felt no longer be in the same hotel and certainly not a 4 stars : First we lost the morning waiting for our new room is available and will be able to access the safe : the only solution has found the hostess was to leave a certain amount of ' cash on the principal's office .
The toilets were very doubtful, he even had hair in the tub : we brought the hostess .
The wardrobe , very small , did not hang clothes too long: the boot and réfrégérateur take much more space and we could not close the door because the lock was broken.
The TV channels were not in that order for us to do or spend all channels reviewed to find one .
The rooms overlooking the garden does not doivet be quite expensive to qualify for the air freshener .
For a room A160 euros per night without breakfast I think it is very exaggerated and even rash.
I forgot to note that the room was not soundproof over the noise of cars as a garden because we were very close to the road .

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nico119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

What a stunning place! Movie star feeling. A lovely hotel that was built in the late 1800s. Almost all of the 28 rooms have a seaview. There is also a private, sandy beach, a pool, lunch/ early dinner restaurant and free Internett access in the lobby. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even booked a rental car for us. Refrigerator at the rooms, in case you want to make your own breakfast. The city center of Ajaccio is within walking distance, but you will need approximately 20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uma78Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Everything is perfect except for one thing the beds are too short for tall people who are > 1.90 mtr. Rooms are small ( 25 m2).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancsashire England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed in the cheapest room with a sea view which was good to be able to experience the position of the hotel on the edge of the islands capital but in a world of its own. The best continental breakfast ever on the fabulous terrace overlooking the sea. The marmalade was amazing. People who complain about paying 14 euros for a masterpiece of a breakfast need thier head testing. Eating out in Ajaccio was expensive and the standard of food not that high. Highly recommended for 2 nights on your way up or down the stunningly beautiful island of Corsica

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The location within walking distance and over looking the sea made it the perfect spot, We enjoyed the peaceful, quiet atmosphere and wich that we had spent more time there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
36.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
402 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mouettes

Property: Hotel Les Mouettes
Address: 9 cours Lucien Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Green Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#4 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mouettes 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Corsica's famous Route des Iles Sanguinaires, in the heart of the splendid Ajaccio Bay, the Hotel**** Les Mouettes is an enchanting 19th century seafront residence. The liveliness of the nearby city centre is left behind, making way for peace and serenity. The small white sand beach, the heated saltwater pool and the Jacuzzi are real havens of tranquillity. Its pine and palm-lined terrace offers an unrivalled panorama of the Mediterranean Sea and the shores of the Ajaccio Bay. All of our rooms and suites are individually decorated and are cosily comfortable. At our Spa, you will enjoy expert beauty and relaxing treatments. Here, service is attentive, smiling and sincerely personalised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Mouettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Mouettes Hotel
Les Mouettes Ajaccio
Hotel Les Mouettes Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing