We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property”
Review of Hotel Les Mouettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Mouettes
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed there during three days in April and it was among our best days in Corsica. We had a room with a sea view and it was really perfect. The combination of the room with the big terrace makes it difficult to leave the hotel and wander around. Everything was very nice, whether the room organization or the bathroom, as well as the amenities.

The hotel is not in the city center but at a walking distance, around 3 km up to the citadel, we never had to take the car to go into the city. for us, the only negative side was the breakfast, which was not up to the standard of the rest, with a rather limited selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Les_Mouettes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

My entire staff and I would like to thank you for your comment! Your satisfaction matters a lot to us, and we will continue to work hard in order to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon at Les Mouettes!

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste PIERI
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    123
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
67
357
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Etterbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in May 2014. Our stay was split in two, so we stayed in two separate rooms, one with a pool view and one with a sea view.

This is a small but classy hotel with less than 20 rooms.

Both rooms we stayed in were very good and comfortable with good bathrooms. The hotel has a heated seawater pool (with poolside loungers), a jacuzzi and a private beach, all of which are very nice.

The staff are friendly and attentive, and happy to book taxis, restaurants, etc.

The breakfast is good and, in good weather, the breakfast terrace is absolutely spectacular - what a view!

The hotel does not have a full restaurant, but from noon til eight does light stuff - sandwiches, salads, etc. Of good quality. The bar is open until ten.

For French speakers (or football fans who don't mind French commentary!), the rooms have Canal+ pay TV as standard, a nice bonus. Free wi-fi for any number of devics and free lobby internet and printing too.

The hotel is located around 1.5 km from the centre of Ajaccio, around a 25 minute seaside walk. Despite being still in the built-up outskirts of town, it is designed in such a way to be a self-contained absolute oasis of calm.

The hotel also has two cute house cats, both tabbies. Non-cat-lovers don't worry - they're unobtrusive unless you seek contact!

Overall an extremely good hotel and one we'd thoroughly recommend to others.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view or pool view are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Les_Mouettes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir,

My entire staff and I would like to thank you for your comment! Your satisfaction matters a lot to us, and we will continue to work hard in order to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon at Les Mouettes!

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste PIERI
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel April 15 for a week. It was for our honeymoon. This hotel was beyond our expectations. It seems small however, the attention to detail is spectacular. The hotel is in the perfect location to walk into Ajaccio. It is is close proximity to the beautiful beaches of Ajaccio. There is a PADI dive center a 1 min walk away. There are restaurants immediately next to the hotel, a pastry shop, a cheese and meats shop, and a café. Yet, the hotels walls and superb layout makes you feel exclusive while being in close proximity to all you need. I was a bit worried about how close the gas station is to the hotel, but trust me you don't even know its there. The hotel has a great view of all of the beaches and across to Porto. Our room was a prividlege sea view room - we enjoyed hear waves every morning we awoke. The rooms are perfectly laid out and comfortable. The hotels attention to detail is unbelievable - for instance there is a chair that is placed under a dim lighting in the hallways - to perfectly accentuate the lighting. The water at the beach was cold, so we spent a lot of time in the heated salt water pool and Jacuzzi. There is also a nice swing at the pool. The trees around the pool add to a perfect relaxing atmosphere. That was all about the hotel. Here is the great part: the staff was the most accommodating, polite and enjoyable. We love the way how bonjour is sung, not spoken by everyone. Our first day was hectic - the staff spent the first 2 hours bringing us towels, hangers, converters (US to Europe,w hich we kept for the duration of our stay). Then, because we spoke no French the staff made all of our phone calls to arrange all of our excursions. Many times we changed our time and the staff never once complained about rescheduling. Their attitudes were cheeful and genuine. Also, all of their recommendations led to the perfect honeymoon. I would like to especially thank Ceclia, Mathilde and Sabrina for all their hard work in making our honeymoon perfect! Thanks for the biscuits.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms, and thicker pillows if you don't like flatter pillows. The smell of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Les_Mouettes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir,

My entire staff and I would like to thank you for your comment! Your satisfaction matters a lot to us, and we will continue to work hard in order to improve our guests' experience.

And also, a special thanks for the trust you placed in us for chosing us for this special occasion that your honeymoon was!

We look forward to welcoming you soon, this time to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Les Mouettes!

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste PIERI
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Good views over the bay from upper rooms. Small hotel without restaurant though bar meals are good. We visited in September when the hotel was quite quiet. Small pool is a bit salty. Some way out of town between main road and sea.

Room Tip: Upper room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandPDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I am here on a business trip, the hotel is the best in Ajaccio, the rooms are fantastic, the private beach exquisite, the food quality excellent, but the best feature is the friendly staff, highly attentive to all your needs, always ready to help and positive. I was sitting at night at the terrace, they came and offered me a wonderful local drink.
I'm coming back for sure

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were a little concerned about the location of the hotel when we booked it because it is about 1.5 kilometers from the center of Ajaccio, but we needn't have worried. Not only it is a pleasant walk along the seafront to the center, but there are numerous bars and restaurants along the way. The hotel itself is absolutely first rate. We booked a sea view room with a large terrace, which was not cheap, but well worth the price to have such a spectacular view and the option to spend long, lazy hours in private outdoor space (there was a table and two chairs as well as a double-width lounging bed on the terrace). There is a beautiful public terrace next to the seaside pool where you can have cocktails and light meals (there is not a full service restaurant) served by friendly and attentive staff. There is also an extensive breakfast buffet, available for a surcharge. After being here for a few days we wanted to extend our stay but the hotel was fully booked, despite it being the end of season. We were not surprised to hear this, but we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Les_Mouettes, Gérant at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir,

My entire staff and I would like to thank you for your comment! Your satisfaction matters a lot to us, and we will continue to work hard in order to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon at Les Mouettes!

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste PIERI
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Like its sister hotel in Cap Corse this is a glamorous , elegant and quality hotel. If you want to be truly pampered, this is the place to stay. Get your money ready as it isn't cheap but well worth the spend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Les_Mouettes, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Madam,

My entire staff and I would like to thank you for your comment! Your satisfaction matters a lot to us, and we will continue to work hard in order to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you very soon at Les Mouettes!

Kind regards,
Jean-Baptiste PIERI
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
589 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
484 reviews
51.5 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mouettes

Property: Hotel Les Mouettes
Address: 9 cours Lucien Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Green Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
#4 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mouettes 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Corsica's famous Route des Iles Sanguinaires, in the heart of the splendid Ajaccio Bay, the Hotel**** Les Mouettes is an enchanting 19th century seafront residence. The liveliness of the nearby city centre is left behind, making way for peace and serenity. The small white sand beach, the heated saltwater pool and the Jacuzzi are real havens of tranquillity. Its pine and palm-lined terrace offers an unrivalled panorama of the Mediterranean Sea and the shores of the Ajaccio Bay. All of our rooms and suites are individually decorated and are cosily comfortable. At our Spa, you will enjoy expert beauty and relaxing treatments. Here, service is attentive, smiling and sincerely personalised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Mouettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Mouettes Hotel
Les Mouettes Ajaccio
Hotel Les Mouettes Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing