We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located, clean, free WiFi! Good price for value.”
Review of Hotel du Golfe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Golfe
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for two nights and I reccomend it. The hotel is located just next to the port, surrounded by restaurants. The windows are double-glass, so silence is guaranteed! Walking distance from old-town, sunday-market and other attractions. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean. Cable-TV, mini-bar and free wifi are a great surplus. The showers are just too small. I bet some people would have problems with that. Staff is super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Take the one facing the gulf and watch the boats and cruisers coming and going. On 5th and 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

clean and friendly, well located, restaurants and bars next door so it was perfect for a late ferry arrival and a stroll to nearby port and markets the next morning. old building but rooms and bathrooms refurbished, good bed. parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlluMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel has a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat albeit a bit small and in all the hotel offered a decent value for the price. We had a room facing the port and the view was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

An excellent location right by the port, town centre and the great outdoor morning market. The hotel has no parking but we found spots on the road. Most of the parking is limited to 2 hours between 9.00 -12.00 and 14.00-19.00. The hotel itself was comfortable. We got a good deal and had room at the back of the hotel, so no sea views, but we had a very comfortable bed.

Ajaccio is a pretty town with good food and several beaches in around the city. It is the birthplace of Napoleon and you can see the house, which he lived in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

As you can see, the reviews for this hotel are very different. I think that you will get what you pay for. We had a room on the floor next to the top floor. A nice balcony with a fantastic view. The room was small but OK.
The street outside is very busy, ask for a room on a higher floor. The two top floor rooms (seaview) have a small terrace. The reception is at a very small room and was extremely busy from time to time. But the staff was friendly.
The lift is very small and sometimes very busy. Long wait.
Breakfast is outside or inside.
I recommend this hotel, but be sure to book a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WiSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

June 19th,2007
We picked Hotel du Golfe after reading good reviews in different travel book listing the Golde a 3***. There were no more room with bayview. The cleck refused that I take a look at the room available. We took a chance at 112 euros, breakfast included.
Overall a 2.5 **
Although the room was very small, with no view and semi-dark (a small window facing other buildings 10 feets by), it was quiet, clean and offered a safe deposit box.
Breakfast was usual french, i.e croissant, tartine and cafe. All good, the croissant well above average.
The cleck told us it was ok to park in the street for free until 9am, then $ was required for the parking. We had no problem.

It is very well located close to restaurants facing the Golfe d'Ajaccio.
For an overnignt stay, it did the job but you don't go there to spend time in the room.

There are certainly better places in Ajaccio

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank mickey06Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We have just returned from touring Corsica - which was great - Corsica is a really beautiful Island. We stopped in four different resorts and only had a problem when we arrived in Ajaccio at the Du Golfe. We booked 3 nights at this hotel in February 2006 (8 months before our stay) they took our deposit and confirmed our booking by email, we had travelled all day to Ajaccio, but when we arrived at the Hotel we were told that there had been a mistake with the booking and they had doubled booked us! We could only stay with them for that night, but they would find us another Hotel for the next 2 nights. We told them that we were not happy about this and complained about their poor service, the man and woman we spoke to on reception were not bothered and blamed "someone" at the hotel for mixing the booking up, and just kept telling us that it was not a problem. They gave us details of a hotel just around the corner, which we checked out and it seemed OK, so we got booked in there for 2 nights. We stayed the 1 night in the Du Golfe, but the room was tatty with very little furniture and really poor beds, the bathroom ceiling leaked the next morning from the room above - which we informed reception of. We then stayed in the San Carlu for 2 nights which was a much better Hotel, the staff there spoke English well and the room was much nicer and better furnished - so it turned out alright in the end!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ANT&LISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalliste
Hotel Kalliste
#17 of 28 in Ajaccio
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ajaccio
Mercure Ajaccio
#11 of 28 in Ajaccio
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dauphin
Le Dauphin
#23 of 28 in Ajaccio
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golfe

Address: 5 boulevard du Roi Jerome, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Price Range: £62 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golfe 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Golfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Golfe Hotel
Hotel Du Golfe Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing