We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beaches, Beautiful Hotel, Wonderful People”
Review of Cala Di Sole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cala Di Sole Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches, Beautiful Hotel, Wonderful People”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What more can you ask for on a vacation. My wife and I went to Cala di Sole for our honeymoon, and we stayed there for 10 days. This hotel is right on the beach with gorgeous views. From your hotel room you will walk about 100 ft. to the private beach. While you are down at the beach there is a restaurant [which is good, not great], and there is a snorkeling/diving shop that goes out on daily trips. If you would like to stay up at the hotel, the employees are great and genuinely care about you, and there is a wonderful lap pool. For these reasons I highly recommend this place for anyone to go. The employees speak French, English, and Italian, and I am sure if you didn't know one of those languages they would find a way to best serve you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    85
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
103
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stay one night at the hotel for 15 of august week end and were lucky to find a room.
I was much concerned about what I read about the hotel and honestly it's not that bad.
If you like "back to the future" you're welcome !!!
It's like time has stopped during the 70's and it's charming.
You like it or not but for us it was a perfect experience.
2 cons :
overpriced !!!
the restaurant on the beach (paillote) doesn't take credit card and you need to go beaching with a wad of notes !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrinceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Traveling Europe with our young daughter (aged 4) got a bit hectic, especially with all the traffic in Italy and France, so on advice of a friend who had stayed at Cala di Sole we took extra time to have a holiday within a holiday. We'd never been to Corsica, but we are very glad we followed this advice. Looking back, this extra family time without distractions was the highlight of our whole trip. The location was private enough to feel away from the hustle, and the people at the hotel were welcoming enough to make us feel like we belonged there. As we're thinking to go back to Corsica and found their website, we feel others might want to know our family's experience at this location. There is no question we'd stay again at the Cala di Sole. Examples of memorable moments for us- staff brought our daughter a shovel and bucket to play with on the beach without asking, ping pong table in large room overlooking the sea hosted awesome games in early evening, swimming pool location is every holiday goer's dream, and going on a boat trip with warm crystal clear water with charming hosts who, it turned out, are very knowledgeable about Corsican history. Also worth mentioning is that this hotel has a relaxed restaurant right on the private beach with top-class service. A draw-back for some would be that on a rushed trip through Southern Europe, a relaxing hotel at the edge of Ajjacio, Corsica might seem a little out of the way. For us, this is precisely what made it worth going to. Only once we got there, did the holiday feel like a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey.U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

If you are looking for somewhere special to spend a few days , or a week to relax , the hotel is situated by the sea with its own privated beach, beautiful white sand , very good restaurant ,with good food in a romantic setting overlooking the Sanguinaires Islands .
This hotel is family run which makes it special ----- Rooms are confortable and the ambience is great . ---- There is also a large sea water swimming pool, tennis court and private parking, so no worries!!!!!
We spent seven days here -- The next best thing to Paradise .
We are returneng later this year to recharge our batteries!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desarbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I was with my wife at the "Cala di Sole" last september, I am myself an hotelier working in a 5 stars property, it was simply outstanding !!
Location is magic, the only thing you see from your room is the sea and the small islands in front of the bay, absolutely the best to relax. There is a white sandy private beach equipped with all the comforts, the color and the glittering of the sea water is just marvellous, transparent and inviting. Otherwise you can still use the pool, just above the rocks and the sea, big size and very good mantained.
At lunch time we used to have our meal on the beach, it was just like to be in a dream, delicious food with the feet in the water, what else can you ask to your holidays ??
All over the hotel the quality of the food is exceptional, the service very professional as well as the warm welcome we received upon arrival.
The room we got was brand new, clean and very comfortable, the view ocedr the bay was breathtaking. Housekeeping was passing by twice per day sparing no efforts to make our stay unforgettable.
If you are planning to go to Corsica the address you need is indeed the Cala di Sole, I will go back next year and hopefully many more times

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nello_russo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suisse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Good location
white sand beach
very good service like at home
new tenjis court

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suisse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I went in holiday in this lovely hotel; directly located on a white sandy beach with a crystal sea. I can not forget the great grilled fish that i ate at the beach restaurant.
the swimming pool was amazing, big and with an incredible view. what a relaxing time I had; compliments also to all the staff who was very kind and professional.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovannimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
517 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stella di Mare
Hotel Stella di Mare
#10 of 28 in Ajaccio
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dolce Vita
Hotel Dolce Vita
#12 of 28 in Ajaccio
260 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
589 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Di Sole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Di Sole Hotel

Property: Cala Di Sole Hotel
Address: route des Sanguinaires | Corse du Sud, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#4 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Di Sole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located in Ajaccio's gulf, in front of Sanguinare islands. 31 rooms with sea view and balcony or terrace, air conditioning, bathroom with separate WC, color TV, direct telephone, Wifi, fully equipped conference room holding 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cala Di Sole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Di Sole Ajaccio
Hotel Cala Di Sole
Cala Di Sole Hotel Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing