We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stella di Mare
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Affligem, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel Stella di Mare was our first place to stay (June 4 2014) during a one week trip and first time visit to Corsica. We selected this place for several reasons: reviews, an 8.0 score, location and distance from the airport, good start for the round trip of the (almost) entire island. We stayed in a 'superior' room located in front of several other 'blocs' with individual rooms, facing sea with a nice view of the Isles Sanguinaires. Our room was clean, rather small, so was the bathroom as well but it did not bother us. The nice and clean pool was an alternative of the sea and small beach and we used it for a couple of hours to relax. There were not many people in the hotel and early June is a quiet time. Although the hotel's policy is to register only at 4 p.m. we were allowed in the room much earlier as we arrived already at 8 a.m. in the airport. We used the rest of the day to visit Ajaccio. We could drop our car easily in a parking and in the hotel itself there is enough place to park the car.
The staff (we only met 2 different people at the reception) was friendly and so no complaints at all. We only used breakfast (a good one) on a sunny terrace with a great sea view.
Conclusion: this was a good start of our first trip to Corsica and not to forget: sometimes the reality is better than what it looks on the internet and this happened more than once on this tour.

Room Tip: Choose a room nearest to the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    142
    46
    29
    9
See reviews for
72
184
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is a modest sized 3 star hotel right on the beach. Whilst probably built in the 1970's its location is fantastic and being just outside Ajaccio is convenient without the hassle. We stayed in a sea-view room with the beach below us and the beautiful sea just yards away. Fantastic to wake up to.
Corsica is not a cheap place to stay or eat out, but we found the hotel restaurant to be better value than outside, with better choice and higher quality meals. We only had evening meals here so cannot comment on breakfast or daytime food.
The beach was clean and the sea relatively warm. The hotel pool was a great alternative (if you don't like the sand) and was extremely clean and never busy. A great place to relax.
The hotel staff were very friendly and it was great to try our French, rather than everyone speaking perfect English, which they don't. But this is a bonus, in our opinion.
This was our first time in Corsica and loved it. We would recommend this hotel and the only reason we would not return in the short term is that we would try a different resort on the island, but we are sure we will be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SellickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of April and were quite happy about the experience. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel is practically on the beach and even when the water is still to cold (as was the case for us), it is great to sit on the terrace with a cup of coffee watching the sea. On the downside I could point the distance to the centre (7km) of Ajaccio which is partially compensated by the bus stop directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana1979_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I booked this hotel online VIA THE HOTEL WEBSITE. Received a confirmation stating below:
This is exactly taken from the website and email confirmation to me. Couple weeks after booking, my bank told me my credit card was charged for almost 400euro! It was from this hotel. I contacted them, no one spoke English as the hotel was still closed... 2 weeks of emails it took me to get them to charge back my cc. BUT THEY REFUSED TO KEEP THE RESERVATION UNLESS I PAID!!! THEY KEPT ON TELLING ME ABOUT SOME POLICY ON THEIR WEBSITE THAT IT IS: 22 DAY CANCELLATION POLICY AND THAT THEY CHARGE 30% AHEAD OF TIME!!! I BOOKED THROUGH THEIR WEBSITE AND RECEIVED A WRITTEN CONFIRMATION WHICH WAS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, AS WRITTEN BELOW.
I called again, someone spoke English, COMPLETELY RUDE! Told me they only have one policy and that is to charge the cc. WHAT STUPID PEOPLE, they should check their website reservation system ... or if they made a mistake which is in writing I have the policy, they should make allowance.

I now found a MUCH NICER HOTEL, RADISSON BLUE, IN MUCH NICER AREA NEAR AJJACIO for only a little bit more money...
I already heard HORRIBLE THINGS ABOUT SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL FROM FRIENDS, but usually I LIKE TO MAKE UP MY OWN MIND... NOW, I AM GLAD THIS HAPPENED BEFORE I HAD TO STAY THERE! BE WARE!!!

DIRECTLY FROM MY EMAIL CONFIRMATION:
Reservation policies :
To guarantee your reservation, we require a credit card number. No amount will be taken in advance. The payment is made at the hotel after your stay. Please call us in case of late arrival.

Cancellation policies :
Reservations can be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival date without fees. Charges will be one night's stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived in announced and the hotel complex was closing next day, but hey took us in, no catering provided, but I would imagine it would be good in season as the facilities where either new or in good condition. There is a great pool but also the ocean at your rooms door. The room was large and fully fitted and the noise of the sea was calming at night. We loved it and would go back in season.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lovely hotel... A very clean big room, waiting for us, with enough space for 3 persons... and a wonderful terrasse, a few meters from the sea... the seaview was wonderful... Very helpful staff... ! We wish to come back..!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norway63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baak, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We didn' t really like the room but they were reasonably priced. But what struck us was the breakfast . It was the best in corse until now. Rooms are simple , a little boring. Great room for shower however.
Mediocre but for a reasonable price

Room Tip: Tru to get 2012-214 , you will see some sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Di Sole Hotel
Cala Di Sole Hotel
#10 of 28 in Ajaccio
187 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dolce Vita
Hotel Dolce Vita
#12 of 28 in Ajaccio
256 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Ajaccio
Mercure Ajaccio
#11 of 28 in Ajaccio
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella di Mare

Property: Hotel Stella di Mare
Address: route des Sanguinaires, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella di Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Stella di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Di Mare Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing