We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was here with a motorcycle group in early October and this hotel went out of its way to find us parking for 11 motorcycles. The location is phenomenal right next to Napoleon´s birthplace and all the tourist traps along the waterfront. The hotel clearly went through a big renovation in the recent past mostly focused on the bathrooms (which are excellent). Room size remains, and it´s from another era: the rooms are huge! I agree with other reviewers on the gloomy lobby and the tortuous corridors etc but the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the corner rooms on the upper floors with two windows with completely different vi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzu U Domu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

I spent 4 nights (Oct. 2013) in Hotel Palazzu U Domu in Ajaccio, France.
I was given room #407 (4th floor) which was great because we had 4 windows : two on the small streets and view on the cathedral, two on small streets too and the sea (quite far).
The bed was large and comfortable. Wide tv-screen, mini bar (with a few beverages only), much space, aircon worked well, bathroom was with the toilets and was clean.
I must say that we spent a nice time in Palazzu U Domu and its location is really great.
Staff was friendly. We arrived early in the morning (before check in time) and they agreed to keep our luggages ; they even called me when the room was ready.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and it is a buffet style. Quiet room (possibility to eat outside when it's sunny), good choice but it could be a bit better for the price (16€). But you'll find good jam and honey from Corsica.
My overall feeling is good. After pros, here are cons... but to tell the truth, they are very little and did not bother me at all.
We took 2 beverages from the minibar but I guess the prices were not written anywhere (it was 3,50€ for each beverage).
We would have liked to have slippers (as written on their leaflets) but couldn't find some (the housewife didn't even know where we could have some).
We asked the hotel staff to call us a taxi to go back to the airport. A driver came but he was not a taxi (relatives ?) and charged us 25€ which is far too expensive.
At last, it was really noisy when windows were opened but we could hear very little noise when closed. I guess that it can be noisy on Friday and Sat. evenings because of the bars neaby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabriceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like on behalf of all the staff thank you for your comment very touching, and we need your support.

We make our maximum to meet the expectations of our customers and offer a personalized service tailored and when it is possible, and upon availability we try to upgrade our guests.

The nightlife in the area is very lively indeed sometimes depending on the period, especially on weekends. It is also one of the reasons our customers choose our hotel.

See you next time in Palazzu U Domu

Best Regards,

Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel does not meet expectations. It is in a lovely old stone building in an excellent location but the positives stop there. The internal renovation is entirely unsympathetic. From the outside one would not expect to enter a dark, gloomy sparsely furnished lobby/bar that is never used as it is so unwelcoming. There is an apologetic reception desk squashed to one side and a tiny, wobbly lift that spills out on to yellowed (actually new but so wrong in the dim light) walls with dreadful striped carpet that looks like 'discards'. The rooms must have been artificially enhanced because whilst they look pleasantly light in the photographs, they are invariably dim and depressing with large black ungainly furniture, bare bar fridge on floor and bad beige curtains. the overall feel in the rooms is claustrophobic and oppressive. Loud bar opposite. Staff are tired and cynical. A great disappointment.

Room Tip: All rooms at front impacted on by loud bar opposite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GANDK715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very sorry you didn't like the decoration of the hotel. And we apologize for all the unconvenience.

We took note of all your remarks.

Best regards

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right in downtown Ajaccio, minutes from Place Foch, shops & restaurants. Classy European look outside, yet modern decor with bold colors in the lobby. The small elevator has gigantic number buttons taking up almost entire side wall that looks like a giant phone/calculator - Playful.

**Front Desk: Polite, helpful, English speaking staff, Tourist Tax(about 2 EUR/night) at checkout
**Wi-Fi works GREAT in the room
**Guest room: Simple, clean, comfortable, mini-bar/fridge, flat screen TV, desk & chair
**Bathroom: Rain Shower/Adjustable hand-held shower combo with a tub
**Amenity: Really pleased to find a pair of Terry Robes and Slippers inside the wardrobe but bathroom amenity was pretty basic; Hair & Body Shampoo, Hand soap, Shower cap, Shoe mitt.
Could definitely use Conditioner and Body Lotion please; Coffee/Tea maker would be great too.
**Breakfast: Simple but nice buffet with fresh baked pastries/croissants/crepes, cereal, cheeses, fruits(fresh & dried), yogurt, juice/coffee/tea. The attendant was not too friendly, though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


Thank you for this complete and efficient comment.

We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we have the chance to be well located, close by all the touristic attractions.

We took note of all your remarks and we will pay attention to them.

Hope you will become a fan of our facebook page!

Kind regards

Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Renovated, spacious hotel about 300m from the heart of Ajaccio. Excellent breakfast, with good bread and fresh orange juice. A memorable stay. Renovated older building with original features but a little dark inside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Palazzu U Domu Hotel and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Very stylish hotel in a terrific location. Clean, classy rooms with excellent air conditioning...needed in summer. Am amazed people have complained about the dark rooms..It's an ancient beautiful old building - what do you expect? Good breakfast served in courtyard garden. Only concern was thatone night the bar opposite played VERY loud music until 2am, but other than that the place was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieCat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Palazzu U Domu Hotel and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.

The nightlife in the area is very lively indeed sometimes depending on the period, especially on weekends. It is also one of the reasons our customers choose our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Convenient location. However, for a 4* hotel the service proved really bad. No room service (it took more than 1 hour to get a bottle of water). We got charged for a 40 min late check out (check out deadline 11.00am).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, General Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your comment.

I'm really sorry you had unconvenience with the staff, and they will have reprimands. It is not the way they should welcome clients.

I would like to find an excuse but they should have been nicer.

I apologize about what happened.

I would like to change your mind, come another time, and you will enjoy your stay, I will do my best for that.

Best regards

Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Campo Dell'Oro
Campo Dell'Oro
#15 of 28 in Ajaccio
336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzu U Domu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzu U Domu

Address: 17 rue Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range: £131 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzu U Domu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzu U Domu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzu u Domu Ajaccio
Hotel Palazzu U Domu Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing