We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

When you first enter this hotel you may be forgiven for thinking that it is a little outdated... however on closer inspection you will discover that it is very quiet, extremely clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast good value and the staff in reception are at your service! The added bonus is that when you step out, cross the road- the drivers are very respectful- you are on one of the best beaches in Europe- clean, water exquisite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    84
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
20
83
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is situated close to the sea shore. The center of Ajaccio is 10-15 minute walk on the shore pathway. Parking is a bit of problem, you ought to find a suitable place in the nearby area, which is not always easy. The room was a bit small, but acceptable, overall it met but did not exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent two lovely days at this hotel in July and thought it was great. The hotel itself has a nice reception but the rooms are a bit outdated. However, the location just in front of the beach and the sea view from the room (if you pay a bit extra) easily outweighs that. The people working in the reception were very helpful and pointed us to several excellent restaurants in the area. It's about 10-20 minutes to walk to the center of Ajaccio.

If you like snorkeling, the beach just in front of the hotel offered very easy access to see lots of fish in very clear water.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

It was good but not outstanding. The location was excellent with our room having a sea view and the hotel was walking distance to the old town and loads of restaurants . It was a bit tired and had a very French bathroom,temperamental but it worked fine. The staff were very helpfull but probably not as knowledgeable as some hotel staff. It was very good value and we would return but might try another hotel to compare next time.

Room Tip: Make sue you book a room facing the sea and not the city.Some have balconies which is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We loved this quaint little hotel right across the street from the beach! Since we have a teenager, a child and baby we booked 2 rooms side by side to prevent the baby from waking up the other kids if she woke up in the middle of the night. Our rooms were kind of small but nice and clean and each with a small balcony wich was really nice. The bathrooms looked fresh and clean with a good shower with great pressure.

We found the location to be perfect very close to the beach and only a 10-15 minutes walk from the citycenter. There were several restaurant and bars in the area.

The staff were very nice and helpful and made us feel very welcome!

Would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaAlfredsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I liked this hotel more than the other one I stayed at in Ajaccio, and not only because it was 20 euros cheaper a night. The room seemed to have been refurbished, with fresh looking carpet and a nice colourful artwork over the bed. The bathroom was a bit dated but very clean and the shower worked fine. The room smelt a bit funny at first but this went away after opening the windows for a while. It was a bit difficult to find a park nearby. The location is great for those who don't mind walking into the city. There are some good restaurants and coffee shops around and you can go straight over the road to the beach. The staff were friendly (nothing was too hard, although my automatic wake up phone call didn't work) and there was even a cute dog.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryAmateurReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights it was average at best... The location is OK but it's a good 15 minute walk to the town centre and if we were booking again we'd book somewhere more central. The hotel itself is dated, the room is dark and frankly a bit depressing. But it was clean, the aircon was worked well and the staff were very nice.

We wouldn't stay here again but it's fine for a night or so, and it's pretty reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HA_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
547 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.7 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
#14 of 28 in Ajaccio
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: boulevard Albert 1er, 20181 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ajaccio
Hotel Imperial Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing