We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bastia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I think we could have stayed longer but we wanted to go to other places. This is the type of hotel you stay for a stopover as it is in the city with no views and noisy in the morning with traffic, but at 59euro a night off season it was ok. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and good, albeit the shower had a mind of its own. We did not join the others for breakfast at 12 euro, but dine data small patisserie for 5 euro. If we come back to Bastia and need a cheap bed this is the place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    57
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
76
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was extremely accommodating during a time of need. Our ferry was late arriving to Bastia, and we missed the last train and bus to get to our hotel in Calvi. Stranded without a room or transportation, an employee at a café in the square near the ferry port suggested we try this hotel. we are so glad we did! there was a very reasonably priced (especially when it was an unplanned expense) room available for 3. it had all the amenities necessary and felt very new. the design was very ikea-like and cleanliness was apparent! I'm forever grateful to the staff for their helpfulness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived via train from Ajaccio to a howling gale and fought our way through town and found Hotel Riveria easily. The reception is on the first floor but there is a lift for one and bags. Our room was very spacious and fresh and clean. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but just around the corner you can get petite dejuneur for 5. Just over the road to catch the ferry. Very satisfied with hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merito_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a hotel to which I will return with pleasure. Don’t be put off by the shabby ground floor where you take the equally shabby lift to the hotel which starts on the first floor.
We stayed in the huge triple room 102. Although the room was spartan, the slightly tired furniture (table and chair) was adequate for two nights for two people, the room was freshly-painted, incredibly clean, the beds were comfortable, the bed linen laundered to perfection, the bathroom towels were fluffy and soft and were changed each day, the blackout curtains and rugs were also spotless. The room, with a view of the street, an office block and ferries was very quiet.
The bathroom was equipped with an Italian-style shower. However, it was a rather dark room as the light above the wash basin had not been connected.
The breakfasts were simple (pastries, baguette, jam, tea, coffee...) and were served in a light airy room.

The location is excellent:
-- 10-minute walk (with heavy suitcases) from the ferries.
-- 15-minute walk to the train station where you can take the amazing narrow-gauge train through the mountains and forests to Ajaccio.
-- A short stroll to the Place Saint Nicolas (cafés, restaurants), Place du Marché (restaurants) and historic quarter around the old port (Citadel, cathedral).

However, there is room for improvement:
-- Upon arrival, there was only one coat hanger although a further 2 appeared on the second day! Hardly enough for two people.
-- There were a couple of dodgy bare wire connections on the bed heads.
-- The wifi signal was so weak that emails/internet could not be accessed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

as everyone has said the location is great, our room on 2nd floor very clean, bed comfortable an opening window was good, however, the bathroom though near new had no towel racks or hooks and as the shower was over the bath water went everywhere, but that aside there was plenty of hot water.Staff were friendly and available ( not much English but that wasn't a problem). a little pricey but i guess you pay for the location

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easymover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pyrénées atlantiques
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Near the port and the central Saint Nicolas place, the Riviera Hotel is very clean and the room is comfortable. Breakfast is ok but french standard only. Some problems : the hotel is located in a part of an old building, and if it has been renewed, common places of the building not. So the lift is very small and old one, hotel begins at the first floor. Choose a room seaside, even if the sea is not really this side as the other side of the hotel has very very poor view. A little bit expensive but good anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_64000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I spent two separate nights at the Riviera either side of ferry crossings from/to Nice. The obvious trump card for the hotel is its perfect location - opposite the ferry terminal, a few paces from the main square (Place St Nicholas), and, in my case, right next door to the car rental office. So for me it was a no-brainer.

The hotel itself appears to have been partially converted from a former tenement/apartment block. Thus, the hotel reception and rooms share floors with other businesses and tenants. Not that this presented a problem as such, merely that the communal areas were somewhat tatty.

The two different rooms I stayed in were mostly fine, both being spacious and spotlessly clean, and with comfortable beds. But there were several minor oversights which could easily have been attended to, but weren't: for example, no shelves in the bathroom on which to place toiletries, insufficient towel rails/hooks, only a few odd wire or plastic clothes hangers, etc.

These things are so cheap and easy to get right, it doesn't make sense that they're not fixed. You'd kind of expect this in a hotel at the very bottom end of the market, but the night rate I paid here was only 5 euros less than the Ibis hotel in Nice - where these small but important things are sorted.

On the plus side, the proprietors (who perhaps are new to the hospitality business) were welcoming, cheerful and patient with my fairly pathetic french! Given time I think they'll make this hotel a much more attractive proposition - but there's work to do yet.

Room Tip: Taking breakfast at the hotel doesn't really make sense. As other reviewers have suggested, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cataloger_of_ships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bastia hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corsica Hotel Bastia Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#7 of 24 in Bastia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Port Toga
Hotel Port Toga
#2 of 24 in Bastia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Voyageurs
Hotel Les Voyageurs
#10 of 24 in Bastia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sud Hotel
Sud Hotel
#4 of 24 in Bastia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#12 of 24 in Bastia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: 1 B rue Adolphe Landry, 20200 Bastia, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Bastia
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bastia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city downtown, just a few minutes walk from the commercial port, the railway station and the bus station, near a public parking, the Riviera Hotel is an ideal place to stay in Bastia. A few steps from the famous Place Saint Nicolas, the hotel is an ideal base for exploring the city: Piazza San Nicolas, Napoleon Street (pedestrian zone), neighborhoods Market, Old - Port and the Citadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Corsica/Bastia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing