We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shame about the parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Besancon
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our third stay at the Ibis Budget in Besancon. It's right next to the station and only a short walk into the town centre. On the previous two occasions we were able to park in the station car park that was just across the road. However, the station is undergoing a major refurbishment and this car park no longer existing; the station car park is now on the other side of the tracks. You can walk through the station to it but its a bit fiddly driving to it .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel and room were ok, the staff very helpful. Unfortunately the air-codition started "screaming" very loudly at 4 a.m. We called the receptionist who came to our room, but could do nothing about the problem. We tried to go back to sleep, but it was hopeless, so we decided to get up. Luckily the hotel had breakfast ready before 6.

Best regards
Birgit Holm

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank birgitholm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My one nighr booking was because an advance reservation for more than 6 nights was not accepted. Ihad stayed here before so I was aware of the standard and location

The welcome was friendly and the room adequate but lacked hanging space. It was quiet . Breakfasr was good and anything which ran out was speedily replaced.

The down side was the absence of plugs in the bathroom and failure to ment the faulty shaver point.

It is good value for money and I wouls recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Observer431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is located in front of the train station and all its surroundings is under construction which makes parking very difficult. The room was clean but very old. Other Ibis Budget that we have stayed were not in such old buildings. Ok for one night but not more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Primack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Rally excellent value! One of the cheapest hotels I have stayed in in Europe but certainly not the tackiest. Rooms are a decent size, clean and basic. You can't expect much for the price but perfect for a stopover for a night or two. The location is excellent in this regard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Nice, France
1
Reviewed 4 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I never stayed at ETAP hotels before this time because I had the impression that ETAP chain is way below the standard of hotels that I normally stay in. For 2 nights in Besancon in May 2011, I needed a hotel right by the train station because I arrived on the train after mid-night, and left on 5am train. So the ETAP hotel directly across the street from the train station is it. The reception area did not look promising but the room was surprisingly new, modern, spacious, clean, and comfortable – in fact, it is far better than many of the 3 star accommodations I had ever stayed in all over Europe. Excellent shower, comfortable bed, good heating, spacious modern bathroom. It was excellent value. Besancon is a beautiful town, particularly for Vauban enthusiasts. It is very walk-able and has a good bus system. One could hop on the bus from practically anywhere in town to get back to train station within 10 minutes. Be sure to pick up food in city center, as there is only a couple of eating places near the train station area. Monoprix in town center has lots of ready-to-eat food items. The train station area is very safe and very quiet at night. This hotel is about 20 minute walk to town center, but it is very impressive to walk through Vauban's fortifications. I highly recommend this ETAP hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleySFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Besancon hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Besancon La City
Ibis Besancon La City
#10 of 32 in Besancon
539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Hauts du Chazal
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Besancon
Ibis Styles Besancon
#4 of 32 in Besancon
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Citadell Besancon
0.5 mi away
Ibis Besancon Centre Ville
0.9 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare

Address: 5 avenue Marechal Foch, 25000, Besancon, France (Formerly Ibis Besancon Gare)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Besancon
Price Range: £33 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing