We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the climb”
Review of Hotel Le Sauvage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Sauvage
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was recommended by a resident in Besancon. It was absolutely charming and worth the climb. We booked the most basic room we could and were shocked to find ourselves in a huge room (number 3) with a pull out sofa, desk, table, sitting chairs, lovely view overlooking the garden and a fabulous bathroom. It was very quiet which we appreciated! The hotel is tricky to find if you are traveling by car, GPS was essential. While there is a bit of a climb to reach the hotel it was not that steep. The staff were wonderful, very responsive to all of our pre arrival emails and details! That being said, there are very limited services for guests. The reception area is only open from 7 am to 10 pm which is fine so long as you know you can not check in or out outside of these hours or get any other assistance. We did not take the breakfast offered in the morning, although it looked wonderful. Outside of breakfast there isn't any food or beverage options except for a bar that is staffed for short periods of time over the breakfast hour and evening. So if you are returning to the hotel late in the evening and want something to drink be advised to stop in a convince store in town to get drinks or snacks. If were were ever to return to this area we would stay here again in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: Room 3 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caritrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    99
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
197
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very pleasantly surprised to arrive in Besancon by train & escorted to this lovely hotel by the very knowledgeable cabbie that the hotel provided. Loved our accommodations there as we had two rooms on the ground floor in the garden area for my two Grandaughters & my daughter & myself. The rooms were equipped with everything we needed, loved the shower, the appointments & decorating. A fabulous breakfast was served on the terrace, which included a nice variety & a better value than walking into town. Aurelie, who welcomed us at the front desk was so helpful in every way. She is a real asset there. Our stay was a highlight of our France trip & we would definately recommend it to others passing thru the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and it was totally successful. The hotel is sophisticated, close to the Citadel and a short but steep climb back from the town centre. We stayed in the suite number 5 which has a nice living room with balcony overlooking the garden and the view west. It is a private hotel so without the big company service but the staff are friendly and attentive. A place that merits at least two nights. No dinner service but lots of restaurants within walking distance. A quiet discrete location with parking. If driving, once you get into Besancon, the hotel is signposted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were on the way to South of France and decided to stop over in beesencon.

The hotel is located just below the citadel in the old part of the city. It's chic, stylish and the service couldn't have been more impressive. Particularly recommend wine on the terrace in the late afternoon, and the breakfast is incredible.

On the recommendation of the receptionist, we visited the citadel which has been made into a zoo.

The hotel also benefits from on site parking and wifi which are both free.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and area as a stop over if you wanted to site see as well as have a break in your journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etiene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a great building, fantastic quiet and comfortable place to stay.
Quite expensive, but for the usual quality you get from French chain hotels e.g. Kyriad, Campanile etc, this is very nice.
Clean, comfortable beds, large grand rooms with garden views and you could hear a pin drop in this hotel. We enjoyed our stay.
Ever so slightly shaky reception service but it didn't matter.
Would also recommend they add tea-coffee making facilities in the rooms - for 149 euros a night it's quite expensive to not be able to make your own tea in the room.
Excellent bathroom - wet room style, brand new and chic.

Best standard of French hotel we have stayed in, and certainly the best we have experienced in Besancon for comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: As for a garden view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoyleJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich, switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent at Le Sauvage only two nights. But we will go back there as soon as possible. First, the location is perfect, close to the centre and still away from the noise, second: the old convent is charming and tastefully decorated, third: the staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the ground floor with the door going out to a small, cosy inner yard. The room was big with wooden floor (which is a big asset for me, I hate carpeted floors in the hotels). The bathroom was very comfy. The set of toilettries was small but adequate, after all I had my own body lotion :-). It was wonderfully quiet at night. Breakfast (which was unfortunately not included in the price) was just perfect for me. I do not need anything more than a good coffee, fresh bread, good cheese, fresh fruit and an egg. And I got it. I enjoyed very much having a drink on the terrace facing the garden and the green hills. You feel like being in a countryside there. Besancon is a jewel, still undiscovered by tourists. Thanks God. It should remain like that. The hotel has good vibes :-) You can relax there. I am looking forward to coming back to this lovely place as soon as soon as I can. Le Sauvage - thank you!

Room Tip: I took a more expensive version of a room and got a wonderful room on the ground floor with a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ania_kohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

If you ever wanted clean, comfortable surroundings with the friendliest staff I have ever come across in my years of working in France, this is the place.

Only downside for me was lack of a full bar / evening restaurant (although food was available, so you wouldn't go starving).

My guess is the rooms will become stuffy during summer (no A/C in my room) but my stay in spring was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were well appointed and spotlessly clean.

I may be back to the region in May. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again... If available.

Close by shops and restaurants are plentyfull. Hopefully your physically fit as its steep coming back up the bank.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChipoSticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Besancon hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Citadell Besancon
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#3 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#2 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Besancon
Ibis Styles Besancon
#4 of 34 in Besancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Hauts du Chazal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Besancon La City
Ibis Besancon La City
#10 of 34 in Besancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sauvage

Property: Hotel Le Sauvage
Address: 6 rue du Chapitre, 25000, Besancon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sauvage 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located a few yards from Charles Quint, in the historic district of Besancon, in the foothills of the Citadelle.This former monastery of the "Clarisses" transformed into a charming hotel with 24 comfortable rooms,offers stunning views over the city and the valley of the Doubs.A terrace facing the sunset, aclosed parking and a meeting room are at your disposal.The large shady park is a haven in the heart of the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Sauvage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing