We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
155
143
30
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
143
30
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews strategic position one night breakfast room coffee machine hotel is in a great location on site parking front desk staff private parking would stay here again old city minute walk annex citadel courtyard town sofa france
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Booked the hotel for one night with the idea oft getting to see a bit of Besancon.
The check in was "impeccable" with an detailed explanation where to park the car, including city map.
The rooms are not luxurious, but very nice with all amenities needed. A bit dark maybe, due to medieval townhouse windows and dark tapestry.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best in a long time. Fresh fruit, a broad variety of breads, rolls and pastry, abundant coffee and a good selection of different teas. Finding the breakfast room was in the basement was a bit unexpected, but nothing at all disappointing. Nicely decorated with birds on the wire in an immaculate restored cellar. Very nice.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Tomas,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted to see you enjoyed your check in with our team! Thank you for your compliments.
It is important for us to know that our clients enjoyed all of the parts of their stay, which seem to have been the case for you.
We hope to be lucky enough to host you again.
Best regards,
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

small hotel
has a small private parking-need book parking place before arrival
small rooms with minimum service
close to citadel,but not so close to city center(around 30 minutes by walk)
don't book breakfast- we arrive on 09:00 and tables wasn't prepared, anyone didn't meet us,and the breakfast room was without food, without bread, without tea or coffee
all rooms have a view inside the parking !!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Chen,

Thank you for giving us your feeback regarding you stay stay.
We are both sorry and very surprised about the points you reproach us.
Indeed, we are not at all at 30minutes by walk from the city center, since we ARE in the city center.
We are 5min by foot from the pedestrian streets.
Also, we have someone responsible of the breakfast, who is always here to welcome our clients.
It might happen that every tables are not ready if everyone left at the same time, but our buffet is always full for everyone to be able to choose what they want to eat.
We only have one person at the breakfast service, so she can not do everything in 5 minutes, but she surely does everything in time.
Best regards,
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Hotel is located in centre-ville Besancon. This town is a Unesco Heritage site so the downtown has been untouched for ages. The staff at this hotel are super! Very accommodating - excellent restaurant suggestions and personalized service! The breakfast is excellent - love the cheese and croissants! Room was small but worked for me!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Cindy,

Thank you again for your very positive feedback regarding your stay.
It was a pleasure for the whole team to have a client as nice and funny as you were.
We hope you will come back again, either for personal or professional reasons!
Best regards,
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The personnel makes you feel home and the breakfast has the best cheese from the region. The room was comfortable and I loved the coffee machine for most comfort. The bath is little but it was Ok for me.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank miguelmorales85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Miguel,

What a pleasure and an award for us to notice your satisfaction regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted you were able to discover our regional cheeses, Comté and Morbier, which indeed have much success with our stranger clients. Next time, we will make sure to give you a room with a bigger bath, since they do not have the same size in every room.
Looking forward to hosting you again,
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

The hotel is located in the Besancon downtown, quite close to the Citadel. The hotel interiors are nice and clean. The staff was very polite, providing us information about the key place to visit in the city. We booked a 4-bed room without breakfast at a good price. I suggest this hotel for short staying in the city aimed to visit the Vauban Citadel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gi0viss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Gi0viss,

We truly thank you for this positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We especially thank you for your compliments about our team. We work really hard to make sure our clients feel home when staying in our establishment.
We will all be happy to receive you again.
Best regards,
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews