We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic and charming!”
Review of Aigle Noir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aigle Noir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Majestic and charming!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Welcomed with an upgrade to a luxe-suite of 70m! Impressive suite with a decorative 'Napoleonic' focus, a new big bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 3 flatscreens, very comfortable kingsize bed. All excellent facilities, Staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. A beautiful and charming hotel in an excellent city position with good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    240
    59
    17
    1
See reviews for
120
413
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel, very good stay. Excelelnt service from the staff, since the parking across the street was closed and only public parking was available, we could exceptionally use the hotel private parking.
We had a dinner athe "Grand Café" just next door
Fatastic room in "Empire" style, fantastic breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay in this great hotel.

Room Tip: try an upgrade to a junior suite, we had room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Parking is easy, if you drove a small car. There is an underground public car park very close to the hotel. The hotel is able to swipe your parking ticket, which gets you a special rate & it goes on your bill. The hotel is ideally placed in Fontainebleau. Staff have been very helpful. There is an honesty bar system in use, but we did not have need of it as we had bought our own booze! We had a deluxe room, with fantastic bathroom, paid on an advance purchase desl which saved a lot on the walk in price. Free wi-fi. Breakfast was good running from 0700 to 1100, this was the only restaurant service in the hotel. I would return definitely & recommend this joyful to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidderminsterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way to the east of France and gave us the opportunity to visit the chateau. I got a deal for a deluxe suite which was great: very spacious with one bedroom for our 6 years old daughter, one double bedroom, two bathrooms. The decor was in the spirit of a "chateau" which added to the experience. Drinks were complimentary. The suite was well equipped, very quiet and wifi very good. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice for the whole family. The hotel is a few mn walk away from the chateau's entrance and across the chateau's garden. Brasseries are very closed by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here for a week for a short course in INSEAD. First impression was its perfect location. Only 5-7 minutes walk from campus and it is at the center of Fontainebleau. And therefore it was very easy to find anything. Caffees are right in the front of the hotel, pharmacies is on the next building, stores and restaurants are everywhere. I was also surprised that there was a halal restaurant nearby the hotel and therefore it is very convinient from me. The hotel was also very near to the Fontainebleau palace.
The bedroom was also spacious and the bathroom was excellent. The only problem I had when I stayed there was the airconditioner. It was noisy and it was not really cold. I did not have the chance to complaint as my schedule were tight and I used the hotel basically only to sleep and have breakfast.
The breakfast was also ok with plenty of options. I'm Asian and I'm surprised that they provided also thai noodle in the breakfast menu. So, most of my breakfast I eat this thai noodle :)
The staffs were also friendly and helpfull and chekc in and check out process were also efficient.
In bottom line, I will surely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We picked this hotel by chance and we could not have been more pleased. The owners and staff are friendly, personable and by far the most helpful of any hotel staff I've encountered yet. The hotel is lovely. The rooms are spacious and have a beautiful decor. In short, this was a perfect stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Aigle Noir for 2 nights, attending an event in Fontainebleau. I must say that i have been impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, which is sometimes not so good in France. Breakfast was also very nice and the free wifi worked well. The room was Ok (clean) also i would have expected something a bit more luxuruious. They are basic, squared, small. Nothing fancy.A good thing was the parking just underneath. This is the closest hotel to he Chateau - a 2 min walk!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigle Noir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigle Noir Hotel

Property: Aigle Noir Hotel
Address: 27 Place Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aigle Noir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former private mansion dating from the 18th century, this majestic hotel is 100 metres from the grounds of Fontainebleau Palace. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water.The guest rooms are spacious and decorated in Empire style with luxury fabrics and antique wooden furniture. Flat-screen TV and a DVD player are provided in each room and Aigle Noir offers free access to a selection of DVDs.A generous buffet breakfast is available daily in the light-filled breakfast room. Aigle Noir Hotel also has a delicatessen with a range of local, gourmet products for sale.Guests can relax in the large lounge, next to the fireplace with a newspaper or magazine. A wide selection of self-service drinks are also available.Aigle Noir Hotel is 2.6 Km from Fontainebleu Avon Train Station. It is 60 km south of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aigle Noir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigle Noir Fontainebleau
Hotel Aigle Noir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing