We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and well laid out rooms”
Review of Aigle Noir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aigle Noir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well located and well laid out rooms”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Each room is done differently and the hotel is located at the heart of the town. The best part was the honesty bar which was something new for me. Hotel staff was well trained and were very polite. Breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank questmanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    235
    59
    16
    1
See reviews for
117
404
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We made a last minute reservation and booked into the Hotel late one evening. The Manageress was incredibly helpful by allowing us to park our car and trailer outside the Hotel and the room was a fair price.

The Hotel is old fashioned in terms of style and is very nice. It only does breakfast which is fine as there is a super bistro just down the road with other restaurants as well.

Superbly located opposite the palace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very close to Fontainebleau Chateau. Did wonder if we would find parking easy, but it was not a problem. The one near the hotel was closed but we had already parked elsewhere any way. Even without the special rate, is was not much more money. Hotel shop is nice, some lovely stuff. Nice atmosphere to Fontainebleau and the hotel. Hotel staff friendly. Ate nearby, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junehinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Looks great from the outside but no lift working and a long walk from the car park to the hotel. Reception was rather formal and room had "busy"wallpaper and bed was pretty spartan. Only meal available was breakfast in another rather dark and "busy" room. Decent selection of food but very limited service mainly confined to checking one's room number. Bu US or UK standards a 3 star hotel at best. So be warned!,,

Room Tip: Try a suite -they may just be better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Welcomed with an upgrade to a luxe-suite of 70m! Impressive suite with a decorative 'Napoleonic' focus, a new big bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 3 flatscreens, very comfortable kingsize bed. All excellent facilities, Staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. A beautiful and charming hotel in an excellent city position with good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel, very good stay. Excelelnt service from the staff, since the parking across the street was closed and only public parking was available, we could exceptionally use the hotel private parking.
We had a dinner athe "Grand Café" just next door
Fatastic room in "Empire" style, fantastic breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay in this great hotel.

Room Tip: try an upgrade to a junior suite, we had room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Parking is easy, if you drove a small car. There is an underground public car park very close to the hotel. The hotel is able to swipe your parking ticket, which gets you a special rate & it goes on your bill. The hotel is ideally placed in Fontainebleau. Staff have been very helpful. There is an honesty bar system in use, but we did not have need of it as we had bought our own booze! We had a deluxe room, with fantastic bathroom, paid on an advance purchase desl which saved a lot on the walk in price. Free wi-fi. Breakfast was good running from 0700 to 1100, this was the only restaurant service in the hotel. I would return definitely & recommend this joyful to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidderminsterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
252 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Londres
Londres
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigle Noir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigle Noir Hotel

Property: Aigle Noir Hotel
Address: 27 Place Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aigle Noir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former private mansion dating from the 18th century, this majestic hotel is 100 metres from the grounds of Fontainebleau Palace. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water.The guest rooms are spacious and decorated in Empire style with luxury fabrics and antique wooden furniture. Flat-screen TV and a DVD player are provided in each room and Aigle Noir offers free access to a selection of DVDs.A generous buffet breakfast is available daily in the light-filled breakfast room. Aigle Noir Hotel also has a delicatessen with a range of local, gourmet products for sale.Guests can relax in the large lounge, next to the fireplace with a newspaper or magazine. A wide selection of self-service drinks are also available.Aigle Noir Hotel is 2.6 Km from Fontainebleu Avon Train Station. It is 60 km south of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aigle Noir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigle Noir Fontainebleau
Hotel Aigle Noir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing