We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uau!”
Review of Aigle Noir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aigle Noir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Uau!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

excellent cost benefit! it's a historical building in the same age of the chateau. It's been a hotel since 1700! our room was gorgeaus, giant, best quality os sleep and few steps from the chateau entrance (just cross the street!). there is no private parking, but there is a public one nearby (few steps) and the hotel wich the hotel have a partnership, so you pay with a reazonable deduction and with the check out! we were sorry to not stay more time. definetly is a hotel to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIGLENOIRHOTEL, Propriétaire at Aigle Noir Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on our page.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to greeting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    240
    59
    17
    1
See reviews for
120
413
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a great stay at the Aigle Noir in July 2013. The location is hard to beat when visiting Fontainebleau. There are cafés next door and a good bakery (we still long for the take away cornichon, ham, butter on baguette).

Room service was good and breakfast was vey good. You can also buy wine from the downstairs shop and they will deliver to your room.

What set the stay apart was the helpful manager. She pointed us to the local swimming pool and helped with any other questions we had.

The only negative was that the air conditioning struggled with the very hot weather we had during our visit

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTTReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIGLENOIRHOTEL, Propriétaire at Aigle Noir Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment.
We only had a few rooms that struggled with the air conditioning and we are sorry it had to happen to you!
However, it is greatly appreciated when a client can be understanding and patient when there are technical problems. Merci !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, near the theatre, the castle and several stores and restaurants. It is also a walking distance from Insead (but around 15 minutes walking fast!). The room was big and confortable, with complimentary espresso and tea, which was really Nice!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_BRSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queentigerlily
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I travel through France very frequently, and if I could set a template of the perfect oh so French hotel this would be it.

My first visit as a child in the 70's was memorable, and over the years the facilities have continually improved, without Aigle Noir turning into another tedious 'international' hotel that could fit in perfectly in Boston (Lincs or Mass.) This hotel has retained its old world classic charm with 21st century facilities..

The only draw back is a bit of a stingy tea/coffee caddy in the bedroom - so do ask for extra if you are a 'night-drinker!!! Whatever, for a couple of nights I feel like Madame Pompadour..let them drink whiskey!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queentigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Creaking floorboards, old windows, accessible wifi and charming staff. The best accommodation for the discerning INSEAD executive education student. No dinner restaurant, gym or swimming pool but a hearty breakfast is available and a comfortable room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This historic building used to be the town hall many years ago. It is set immediately across from the chateau and its gardens, about 2.5 km from the railway station. If you come in by rail, I would recommend either taking a taxi to the hotel or there is a public bus (route 1) running to the chateau (which did not seem particularly frequent). Our room was in the front of the hotel, looking over towards the chateau, and was very quiet, with double windows blocking any road noise during the day. Late at night, there was no traffic at all along the Rue Grande. Our room consisted of 3 parts; a sitting room with a bed settee & TV, the main double bedroom, also with TV, then the bathroom and separate toilet. It was extremely comfortable. The hotel also provided very good TV facilities (we found Canal+ sport, which is not often available in French hotels) and there was a DVD player for which, for a substantial sum, you could hire DVDs from Reception. The room was fully carpeted (thick pile), with highly decorative wallpaper (making the room quite dark). Very good bed, good quality bed linen and towels - although there were no really large towels provided. At 18 euros per person, we skipped breakfast each morning and popped out to the local bars and enjoyed watching Fontainebleau start to wake up. As our room was comfortably large, we did take advantage of the excellent local food shops in the streets adjacent to the hotel to provide us with a super plate of mixed salads and ham from the traiteur in Rue France, cheese from the fromagerie and wine from the vintner - both in Rue des Sablons. Finally, to report that the self-service laundry has moved to Rue de France, just 5-8 mins walk from the hotel which is most convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 7 days in Aigle Noir . Rooms are well appointed . Breakfast spread is very good. Liked the Honesty Bar . Front desk is very helpful and accomodative. Located at the heart of Fontainbleau. Little pricey though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjeebKalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigle Noir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigle Noir Hotel

Property: Aigle Noir Hotel
Address: 27 Place Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aigle Noir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former private mansion dating from the 18th century, this majestic hotel is 100 metres from the grounds of Fontainebleau Palace. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water.The guest rooms are spacious and decorated in Empire style with luxury fabrics and antique wooden furniture. Flat-screen TV and a DVD player are provided in each room and Aigle Noir offers free access to a selection of DVDs.A generous buffet breakfast is available daily in the light-filled breakfast room. Aigle Noir Hotel also has a delicatessen with a range of local, gourmet products for sale.Guests can relax in the large lounge, next to the fireplace with a newspaper or magazine. A wide selection of self-service drinks are also available.Aigle Noir Hotel is 2.6 Km from Fontainebleu Avon Train Station. It is 60 km south of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aigle Noir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigle Noir Fontainebleau
Hotel Aigle Noir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing