We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the centre of Fontainebleau”
Review of Aigle Noir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aigle Noir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A great hotel in the centre of Fontainebleau. The staff are very accommodating and the rooms are comfortable. There is an honesty bar in a small lounge area for meeting up with others, but no proper bar. WiFi included and the breakfast was very generous. Overall a very pleasant 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Aigle Noir Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here while my partner was studying at INSEAD, and could not have asked for a more lovely location, hotel or more helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and after the shock (despite trip advisor warnings!) of the size of Paris hotel rooms, this was positively luxurious!

The rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious, the bathrooms beautifully clean and well finished.

Staff know the town very well and were incredibly helpful, especially with our little baby.

And the pizza from room service is very highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Corri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is very centrally located. You can park underground across from the hotel and give them the ticket to have a discounted daily rate. Our room had a superior quality bed and linens. I reserved a delux room and had some type of 3 room suite. The bathroom and especially the shower are spa quality. The living room is large and really every room to include the bathroom are considerably larger than the vast majority of French hotels.

Room Tip: try to get an upgrade
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wonderful hotel right next to the palace gardens of Fontainebleau, the staff are wonderful and the hotel is more than comfortable. Great value for such a wonderful place that has everything (including 20mbps wifi free-of-charge!). Breakfast spread is also good and generous. Can't think of anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooreyameen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I found Aigle Noir through booking.com. I settled on this hotel based on the positive reviews we read and the price. We had 2 rooms and stayed 2 nights arriving from Giverny about 8pm. The hotel is well appointed with a relaxing feel when you arrive. There is a discounted parking rate and the public parking is easily found and accessed. The staff were very helpful and responsive to our identified need for a room with a bathtub for the baby travelling with us. We did not take the breakfast given the price of 18 euros each. Overall the stay was very pleasant. As noted in other reviews the hotel is beautiful and has an amazing location in the center of Fontainbleu which is an interesting place in addition to the chateau. The bed we slept on in the basic room was very firm. The walls are covered in patterned fabrics which adds to the quietness and ambiance.

We did notice there are no towel hooks in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: The basic suite on the corner is oldest part of the hotel is very large, sunny and with a spa like...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Cannot say enough good things, but this will not be a boring review. First, the hotel was nice, beautiful and a great location. But I had an experience that showed me the staff are on top of their game: one morning around 5 am a pipe burst in my room. I called the desk, they were up in a minute, assessed the situation and took all of my things out of my room, gave me a new one and apologized profusely. They were great in dealing with an incident that can happen anywhere, but it shows that the staff make the hotel. And the best part, they left a great bottle of wine and basket in my room when I came back from work that night. A fantastic place.

Room Tip: If you are headed to INSEAD, this is the hotel to choose.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudapestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

excellent cost benefit! it's a historical building in the same age of the chateau. It's been a hotel since 1700! our room was gorgeaus, giant, best quality os sleep and few steps from the chateau entrance (just cross the street!). there is no private parking, but there is a public one nearby (few steps) and the hotel wich the hotel have a partnership, so you pay with a reazonable deduction and with the check out! we were sorry to not stay more time. definetly is a hotel to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIGLENOIRHOTEL, Propriétaire at Aigle Noir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on our page.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to greeting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#6 of 12 in Fontainebleau
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigle Noir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigle Noir Hotel

Address: 27 Place Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range: £109 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aigle Noir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former private mansion dating from the 18th century, this majestic hotel is 100 metres from the grounds of Fontainebleau Palace. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water.The guest rooms are spacious and decorated in Empire style with luxury fabrics and antique wooden furniture. Flat-screen TV and a DVD player are provided in each room and Aigle Noir offers free access to a selection of DVDs.A generous buffet breakfast is available daily in the light-filled breakfast room. Aigle Noir Hotel also has a delicatessen with a range of local, gourmet products for sale.Guests can relax in the large lounge, next to the fireplace with a newspaper or magazine. A wide selection of self-service drinks are also available.Aigle Noir Hotel is 2.6 Km from Fontainebleu Avon Train Station. It is 60 km south of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aigle Noir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigle Noir Fontainebleau
Hotel Aigle Noir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing