We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Friendly service, functional hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here during an INSEAD weekend event, and would suggest this as an appropriate hotel, within easy walking distance from the business school. The rooms are quite functional , decent size and have a basic level of supplies.
The service is very friendly and helpful at the reception desk. Free parking and free Wifi are both appreciated.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    115
    86
    16
    7
See reviews for
35
88
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed three night in this hotel during the weekend of the famous yearly Fontainebleau horse show jumping competition. The room was a standard double, facing a lovely hotel's park, and a somewhat abandoned tennis court. The parking is very extensive, and free, which is great. The front desk staff is very helpful, nevertheless failed to mention that the breakfast was only available until 11 am ON THE WEEKENDS, otherwise until 10 am. The hotel restaurant is closed during the weekend, and only snacks are available. Why? It's still a mystery to me- since Fontainebleau is a very much long weekend tourist destination...The restaurant only opens at 19:00pm on Sunday, so we had dinner there, and were very disappointed. The stake that I ordered rare, was so overcooked, it tasted like rubber. The service, overall, is very slow, and we actually had to go around the hotel (reception, etc) to find a barman to serve us some beer and juice at 17:00pm....It's hard to get to the center of Fontainebleau with a car from the hotel, as you have to make a detour of about 1,5 km, I guess it must be easier walking. Overall, we appreciated the quiet gardens and easy parking. Wifi is free, but you have to re-log on every time, even if you've been away for 2 minutes... Name, last name, email, etc...it becomes a drag after a while. Good hotel, but only for business travelers, who stay during the week. Not a great weekend tourist destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butomika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed at the Mecure in Fontainebleau for a week of another INSEAD course.

My comments on my previous review 6 months ago remain accurate. The service at the front desk is excellent, but the housekeeping was very average. In fact, twice this week, I was back in my room at lunchtime, and room service just unlocked my door and walked in with no warning!

Lucky I was dressed and just reading my course material!

And the wifi is again hit and miss. Sometimes strong, and sometimes very weak and slow.

Again, for a hotel associated with INSEAD, with business people attending, I would have thought having access to fast and reliable wifi was a basic requirement. Apparently not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fontainebleau hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights during course at Insead. Pretty standard boring hotel just 200 meters away from Insead (which is very practical). Clean, ok rooms. Average service, not to expensive. Wifi good. Food not so. Breakfast not to inspiring. While stay 2 more 3 nighters at this hotel later this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knutdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is boring, with bad food, and slightly uncaring staff in the restaurant/room service. Slightly feels like it stopped developing in the 90s.
On the positive note, the wi-fi is stable and strong, rooms relatively quiet. It is a 10-minutes walk to the town center, 5 minutes to Insead. Reception staff is nice. Daily free Evian water is a nice gesture.
I was unhappy with the pillows - very thick and uncomfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here for a week during a short course in INSEAD. Perhaps most of the guests are related to the university and therefore I was surprised that when I just arrived on Sunday (when the university was off), there was very limited menu can be chosen from the restaurant. And threfore I need to find meal outside, which was not very nice since I need to walk for 15 minutes to get to the nearest restaurant on the rain during winter. Terrible on weekends but I think it was ok during business days. The front office staffs were helpful and efficient, the breakfast was also ok. The bedroom was spacious with standard equipment. Wifi is sometimes terrible. The bathroom was rather old fashioned but everything was working well. The location is I think suitable for my purpose, meaning it was on walking distance (only 3 minutes) from the university. Neighbouring area was calm since it is located in the residential area, so it is fine if you are searching for peacefullness.
So you see, it is a quite normal and quite standard hotel. Don't expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Modern hotel; clean and well appointed. Furnishings and fittings are good, except for the awful plastic basin and shelving. The wifi was fair if occasionally erratic on the 4th floor. Good parking and pleasant grounds. The hotel is about 12 minutes walk from the town centre along a narrow, uninteresting road. There is a nice reception area and the bar and restaurant have a good feel to them. Breakfast was frankly poor: there were no warm plates and the 'hot' food wasn't. Coffee was undrinkably bitter. Service was willing and smiling, but untrained. The lunch and dinner menus were simply uninteresting and over-priced. This hotel has everything going for it, but somehow fails to deliver as it should. A good 3*, but no more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontainebleau
0.5 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Royal Fontainebleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Royal Fontainebleau

Property: Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Address: 41 rue Royale, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Royal Fontainebleau 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 75 km from Paris, the Mercure Royal Fontainebleau offers the charm and refinement of an exclusive hotel, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. 97 fully equipped rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone and PC connection. The hotel also offers WiFi internet access. The restaurant is open from Sunday evening to Friday lunchtime. Opening hours in the evenings are 6.30 p.m. to 10.30 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Royal Fontainebleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing