We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location and decent place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

A nice little hotel thats a 10min walk to the town centre. The staff is friendly - not super friendly but that might be a cultural thing. The breakfast is good. I would not eat lunch or dinner there - not much selections. The room service was adequate. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bovie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre message et vous attendons avec plaisir dans notre hôtel lors d'un prochain passage à Fontainebleau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    107
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
34
80
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient place to visit the chateau, ( 10 minutes walk ) on a quiet I way street. Pleasant check in and our room which looked over the garden was spacious, clean and looked as if it had been recently decorated. Very comfortable bed, separate toilet and bathroom and secure underground car parking After sightseeing had 2 evenings chilling in the garden drinking very nice wine. ( Bandol Provence Rose) Adequate free breakfast. Would be happy to stay in this hotel if we return to Fountaineblue.

Room Tip: Garden facing room very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre avis sur notre hôtel et sommes ravis que votre séjour y ai été agréable. Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

H and I stayed in this hotel when we were visiting the area to see a dear old friend of ours. The hotel is a 10 minute walk down a quiet street from the centre of Fontainebleau with its beautiful and impressive chateau.

We had a room on the second floor which was a typical Mercure hotel room layout. Perfectly fine and it had everything you could have wanted. The bathroom and toilet were separate from each other.

The staff were all really friendly, positively perky even! We did not have breakfast at the hotel (we slept in!), but did have some lunch in the hotel bar. The menu was limited. I ended up having a Caesar salad that came with some anchovy in it which was a surprise.

Overall, I would stay here again. For those who are planning on visiting INSEAD, the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre message.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié et passez un bon séjour dans notre hôtel.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in June 2014. I did like the setting of the hotel, it has nice gardens to sit and have a drink and a very welcoming reception area. The facilities are very average for a 4 star hotel. To me this hotel is like an Ibis but with better carpets.
The hotel is about 7 minutes walk from where all the action happens in Fontainbleau, so the location is good. The bed was very comfortable
The breakfast is ok but not up to 4 star hotel standards.
I had an unpleasant experience at reception where the receptionist was quite rude to me when I asked for my complimentary drinks voucher which I am entitled to as an Accor Silver member. I travel the world on business and have stayed in 100s of hotels, this is the first time I was treated like an idiot at reception. I would expect this attitude in a guest house never mind from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Tout d'abord merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire.
Nous regrettons que vous ayez eu à demander votre bon boisson offert auprès de nos réceptionnistes pourtant habitués à recevoir des clients porteurs de la carte de fidélité. Nous serons plus vigilant lors de votre prochain séjour du mois d'août.
Nous ne manquerons pas de faire part de votre message à nos collaborateurs afin de continuer à améliorer nos prestations. Soyez certains que nous y travaillons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we have been going to this Hotel for years once a year . The rooms are small but we take a senior suite the prices are correct and the breakfast is always exellent.this last time we found out that they do not have a restaurant anymore which I regret a lot. I used to sit in the garden waiting for my husband with a nice meal. But now they have a sort of self services sandwich nothing to do with a good restaurant. the Hotel is very clean , the reception efficient and friendly.Exellent shirt service. I miss a good restaurant. I also wish they would redo the tenniscourt. It needs resurfacing

Room Tip: all the rooms are small and the same unless you ask for a junior or senior suite they are much large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable commercial at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Google Translation
Nous tenons à vous remercier pour vos commentaires très agréables sur notre hôtel. Toute l'équipe fait le maximum afin de recevoir ses clients le mieux possible et nous sommes heureux que vous y ai été sensible. A très bientôt - meilleures salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsfold
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Not bad bathroom to large for room size could have done with better area for making tea/coffee. Only stayed a night restaurant and bar area quite nice. Lifts a bit small especially when like us you arrive in a large party.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure F, Responsable commercial at Mercure Royal Fontainebleau, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'avoir publié un avis et sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié notre établissement. Nous espérons vous recevoir à nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour à Fontainebleau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontainebleau
0.5 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
486 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Londres
Londres
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
136 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Royal Fontainebleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Royal Fontainebleau

Property: Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Address: 41 rue Royale, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Royal Fontainebleau 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 75 km from Paris, the Mercure Royal Fontainebleau offers the charm and refinement of an exclusive hotel, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. 97 fully equipped rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone and PC connection. The hotel also offers WiFi internet access. The restaurant is open from Sunday evening to Friday lunchtime. Opening hours in the evenings are 6.30 p.m. to 10.30 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Royal Fontainebleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing