We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
97
54
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
54
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadcroissantsperiod buildingkettle providedbreakfast was excellentgracious hostsgenuine hospitalityprivate parkingno elevatorfirst floorelegant hotelper dayoff street parkingphilippecourtyardpalacechateau
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a splendid old building perfectly sited with views over the chateau. The staff are warm and welcoming and seem genuinely interested in the punters' comfort. The 'public rooms' are a delight, with the lounge being sympathetically decorated and comfortable. The breakfast room also is a cut above the norm. I had a standard ("classic") room with a good view: the room was smallish, but very adequate and with the original fireplace; the bathroom was extremely small - really no more than a box off the bedroom, containing loo, basin and shower. All areas were immaculately clean. The free wifi was very good giving 3 bars consistently. The large window was excellently sound-proofed, as were the walls between rooms. So far, I would be giving the Londres 4*.
There are a few snags, some of which like the tiny parking area are irremediable: others could be easily rectified. For example, no toiletries are provided: the only soap is in a bottle screwed to the wall - some 2 metres from the shower! Put another one in the shower. There is no grab-rail in the shower and the tiling can be slippery with no mat provided. I also do not like their policy of charging in full for a cancellation.
At 134 euros per night plus tax plus breakfast at 14 and parking at 9 - all when booked direct - the Londres is not a cheap option. However, given its location, cleanliness and the charming staff, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the largest you can afford.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review, you certainly had room n°1 with it's very small bathroom, as usual we hear and take care of the suggestions of our guest, yours are particulary accurate. Would you had the need to cancell you would have had the nice surprise to see that we never debit the card in advance, hence you can cancell.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed only one night at the Hotel de Londres on our trip from Paris to the Lot. It was the perfect start to our two week stay in France. We arrived early for check-in but were shown immediately to our room, a charming "romantic" (as described on the website) space off the courtyard. It did not have a view of the chateau, but in the heat AC was more important. Note: the bathtub had only a handheld showerhead, which presented a small challenge. Otherwise, simply a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast area and lounge are very pretty and our host Phillipe could not have been more gracious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debtodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review, have a nice holiday!
kind regards,

philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights direct with the hotel. What a fabulous hotel a little gem. So hard to find these days of the corporate style multiple chain hotels- an actual individual hotel. The hotel couldn't be better positioned for views and access to the magnificent Chateau also an easy short walk to shops, bars etc. Beautifully decorated and furnished throughout- with a lovely private courtyard at the rear. We had 2 rooms one on the ground floor off the courtyard and another on the second floor up a beautiful staircase (no lift) Our requests for non smoking rooms and one room with walk in shower were met without a problem.

Room Tip: A number of rooms face the Chateau which you would have to request. Air conditioning in only some of the rooms. Ground floor rooms I believe all open onto the courtyard. No lift so if you are not able to manage stairs then request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fit2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Un Grand Merci, this very encouraging !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Hotel de Londres is a charming hotel located literally across the street from the Fontainebleau Chateau. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room, no. 29, was VERY large with two double beds. During our recent stay the front of the hotel was under construction making it a little difficult to find. Parking is VERY limited at the hotel, but there is a public lot about 1/2 a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KrisW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review, and for the next guests you have just given the good informations about the parking, the renovation of the front facade will be finished at the end of this week.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed in a double room for my business school reunion weekend. My flight arrived early in the morning and I requested an early check-in, which was granted. The room (4a) was large and had two twin beds, which would have been perfect for 2 people if my friend had been able to come. The hotel gave me a quite room in the back off of a courtyard since I wanted to sleep once I arrived and there was some construction being done in the front of the building. The location was great - the hotel is right in front of the chateau, near the centre of town and a 5-10 walk to INSEAD. One complaint is that I couldn't figure out how to take a shower without getting the floor all wet. I only had breakfast at the hotel, which was a pretty standard hotel b'fast in France. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4am has 2 twin beds and is spacious
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajithavinnakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Very kind of you,by chance we had your room ready when you arrived after your long flight from Singapour... we are going to modify this shower.
Thanks & regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews