We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming French Hotel ”
Review of Hotel de Londres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Londres
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely French hotel opposite the chateau. Our romantique room was tastefully decorated and very spacious. Philippe the host was very helpful without being intrusive. A little on the pricey side for our budget but we spoiled ourselves. Only suggestion would be to provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Pete and Jen

Perth
Western Australia

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Peterfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Pete & Jen, thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you both in the hotel for your stay in Fontainebleau. I will follow your advice.
Best regards x Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

With a stunning view of the Chateau from our bedroom window, we had to pinch ourselves. The hotel has the very best location across from the main entrance to the Chateau. Easy parking, lovely room - fantastic bed. Breakfast was delicious & at 14 euros was actually value for money as we had eggs, croissants, juice, tea/coffee - all fresh & delicious.
The hotel is a little tired in areas - carpets in the corners, but this didn't alter the fact that it is clean, well run & in just the best location. We had room 11 which is a Romantique room - the view!! No air con (yet) in this room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review and good comment, we will try to keep the rooms as beautifull as the view, it's a constant work of patient renovation year after year, most of the time we would like to do everything quicker!
Best regards x Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. We stayed in a deluxe room with a view of the castle. We picked this hotel because it was one of the few that would guarantee and air conditioning in your room. The room & bathroom were very nice. the bathroom was huge by French standards. It had a nice soaking with a shower. The only downside was that their is no elevator. So we had to haul our 6 pieces of luggage upstairs, however, the front desk clerk help a lot. We didn't eat breakfast there in the morning, but walked to the little center of town and had breakfast at a little bistro there. The kids enjoyed playing on the chateau grounds, they are free to enter - you only pay to go inside the castle. Walking around the castle is nice. There is a great organic sorbet cart that sells sorbet for you to take over by the water and eat while watching the castle or enjoying the grounds. There are also carriage rides around the grounds of the castle. Overall, I liked staying at this hotel bc it is literally across the street from the chateau, the rooms are nice, the bathrooms are big and the a/c works. They also let us park our car for free in a small gated driveway next to the hotel. We left our key with the front desk clerk in case he had to move the car. But that was fine with us.

Room Tip: castle view is very nice, but on the second floor so you've got to climb 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwithkids14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing location, right across from Chateau de Fontainebleau. Easily accessible from Avon train station by cab or bus. Quick walk to Rue Grande restaurants, the Chateau, INSEAD campus and anything else of interest in Fontainebleau. Very comfortable bed. Clean. Good black out curtains. Very spacious room by French standards. Friendly staff. I didn't try the breakfast. The only thing not so great was lack of water pressure in the shower, and any toiletries. Bring your own shower cap, blow-dryer, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the Chateau - it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkamalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel del Londres and the staff were extremely helpful with every request. The breakfast is always very nice is always fresh. The room is also very comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and if I ever come back I would definitely stay here and will recommend to my colleagues.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ryan-91m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Warm hospitality, classic, very neat and nicely decorated rooms. Just a very short walk away from the palaces & muséums. Price was acceptable (don't miss the breakfast!!). You can also walk you way into Fontainebleau easly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fer_Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for this kind review.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We happened upon this hotel as we had not planned to spend the night in Fontainbleau. I lived in France for many years, so I am not easily impressed by a play on cutesy French. That was not the case here, thought is traditional French. The owner, who is, I believe third generation owner, mans the front desk. He's sincere, sweet, and very accommodating. It was late and I asked about some wine, for which I did not want to have to drive. This is not a typical request, unless accompanying a meal in a restaurant. Nonetheless, he produced a nice red, which he had personally selected and which I might add he didn't mark up the normal percentage, because he wanted to share something he appreciates. Our room, which let out onto the courtyard, had a brand new modern bath (something to appreciate in France, especially at this price point). Breakfast was delicious. It is located directly across from Fontainebleau. It was a real treat and this owner deserves tons of business for being the perfect, considerate, gracious host. Kudos! (He also gave us the "hook-up" on gated parking so we didn't have to unload all of our luggage from our rental Mercedes a/k/a rob me car.)

Room Tip: We happened upon this hotel as we had not planned to spend the night in Fontainbleau. I lived in Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your delightful review, I remember very well your stay, and happy that you have a good memory of Fontainebleau.
Best wishes..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.1 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
556 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres

Address: 1 Place du General de Gaulle, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range: £110 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1850, this hotel located in front the Fontainebleau Palace offers "rooms with a view". Hotel owned by the same family hotel since 4 generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londres Hotel Fontainebleau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing