We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
97
54
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
54
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadcroissantsperiod buildingkettle providedbreakfast was excellentgracious hostsgenuine hospitalityprivate parkingno elevatorfirst floorelegant hotelper dayoff street parkingphilippecourtyardpalacechateau
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Very clean,;classically and traditionally decorated rooms. Room size very large for France. Bathroom huge for France. Comfortable beds. Staff very helpful. Perfect location for visiting the chateau. Strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Fontainebleu.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEW686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We booked this place when exploring options to visit Fontainebleau and the chateau. There didn't seem to be many options, and after staying here, we obviously knew we made the right decision. This hotel has been in the family for generations, and Philipe was a wonderful host during our visit for 2 nights. He greeted us at the door, helped me understand where to park, and he helped me with our luggage to the 2nd floor where we had a very spacious room and a wonderful view of the chateau. He had originally helped me via the internet when I booked the hotel too. He also shared the history of the hotel with us, and they have a cool artwork on the breakfast room wall which features the hotel from back in the 1800's. The rooms are somewhat basic, but they are comfortable and quiet, which surprised me since we were right across the street from this important site. Just down the street is the main avenue with the merry-go-round vintage carousel and lots of dining options. There are also many sights close by in some of the other nearby villages. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here as it was our first stop in France after our long overseas flight. We adjusted quickly to their time due to the comfort of the facility. The breakfast was also nice. Also an additional thanks to their entire staff who were always helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed here between UK and Southern France for a night. If you want somewhere South of Paris for a stop over this hotel has everything. It's easy to get to from A6 and easy to get back on. It has an amazing view of the chateau directly opposite and is close to some nice restaurants. It has very friendly an unobtrusive staff. Like an earlier reviewer we too had room 3b off the courtyard which saved taking baggage up and down stairs. Amazing contemporary French decor with a petit Chateau twist, very comfortable bed and great shower. But the piece de resistance was a stunning breakfast. Wonderful pastries and bread with cheese, cold cuts etc. And finally, all this for a very reasonable price.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review, a real encouragement to continue.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The hotel has everything you would want or expect from a hotel. We had a very big room with a lovely bathroom (bigger than some hotel rooms we've stayed in). The bed linen and towels were of a very good quality and the bed itself extremely comfortable. The room (and the hotel itself) was very quiet. We chose to have breakfast everyday and were impressed by the quality and range of the buffet. It was a pleasure to enjoy the excellent view of the chateau opposite every morning. All staff were welcoming and helpful. From the lady on reception whom we met on arrival, (sorry we didn't get her name), to others who worked in the hotel and of course not forgetting Philipe (hope I spelt this correctly!) who clearly takes a pride in his job and hotel. He sets the tone: professional, stylish and friendly! Thanks for a lovely time.
Liz and Michael
PS We parked our car with bikes on the back in the hotel car park, a real bonus in a town where finding parking could be a challenge.

Room Tip: We had a Room 28 which was on the side of the hotel, it was big and very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you very much for your time to write a review and for your 3 days in Fontainebleau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel De Londres in July 2014 for 4 weeks whilst I was attending INSEAD.

If your studying at INSEAD it was a very easy 10 min morning walk to the campus, and most evenings those that were staying on campus would walk into the town for dinner, so it is a lot more practical to be closer to the town centre.

The hotel is in a brilliant location across the road from the Chateau, close to the main shopping area and restaurants, and the Saint Louis market is set up on Tues, Friday and Saturday....amazing fresh food. Also try the scallops and escargot at the restaurant Chez Bernard across the road.

The room (3B) was immaculate and was styled beautifully with french furnishings which had a clean and contemporary feel. The bathroom is marble, modern and a good size and all linen was of a high quality. The room had a good amount of storage with wardrobe, french chest of drawers and bedside tables, french study table and chair.

The hotel owner Philippe is always on hand to assist, however not in an obtrusive manner, he is a absolute gentleman and runs a very professional boutique hotel.

Room Tip: As we were having an extended stay the hotel owner Philippe chose the room upon our request that would be suitable for an extended stay. We stayed in room 3B which is off the courtyard, quiet and private...and by french standards a very large room, it was perfect for sitting outside for breakfast, sitting outside to study or an aperitif in the late afternoon. The room was very clean, fantastic bedding, air conditioning and a good size bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FWPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilCol, Propriétaire at Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, to have you and your wife in the hotel was a pleasure during one month! many thanks x Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews