We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not luxury but we loved it! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Richelieu
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's not luxury but we loved it! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Large rooms in close proximity to Château de Fontainebleau. Friendly staff. Traffic noise in the morning ensures that you don't sleep in & miss the reason for coming to Fontainebleau.

Rooms are quite basic - but we didn't come to Fontainebleau to spend a lot of time in the Hotel.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAirRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    54
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
58
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went to Fontainebleau for 1 night to enjoy the castle and surroundings. This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel and what a pleasant surprise. The rooms have been upgraded and are very,very nice. The wonderful couple who now own the hotel are working hard to make it perfect and are very hospitable. Do try the Bacchus restaurant in the hotel, it was the best meal we had in France.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, it could be a little noisier but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel for eleven years now, and this is the only place to stay in Fontainebleau. There has been some changes in staff and management over the years but the denominator is friendliness and hospitality. They really want to have the best time. Apart from located in the best part of Fontainebleau there is also extremely easy access to parking. This has improved over the past two years. The hotel has an atmosphere of French wine yards and the narrow corridors which gives you the impressions of being in the wine cellar. The breakfast is very good and a necessity if you choose to stay. This breakfast used to be legendary for its simplicity but with high. Fresh baguette with premium ham or salami covered by a mature comtè.. it’s hard to not love that… Good coffee as well, which is very important for me. All in all… the only place to stay in Fontainebleau.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Wonderful find, directly across from the Fontainebleau Palace. The host couple were welcoming, charming and quite funny. The room spacious, the bathroom as well (for a small French hotel). Parking was much easier than we'd thought, given some of the comments here. We lucked out in the late afternoon with a space on the hotel's street, which remained free of charge until 9 am the following day. After that you just put in whatever coins you need in a nearby parking machine for however long you plan to stay in the space. We stayed here on our first night in France, straight off the plane, and the hotel offered the perfect chance to decompress.

Room Tip: No elevator, so more mature couples might want a room on a lower floor to save on lugging suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The room was adequate, ensuite bathroom good, but bed saggy, beautiful window box flowers, big windows with verdant view. This older, small hotel is undergoing renovation right now, and I only hope they keep the beautiful walnut banistered iron winding staircase. The rooms (our old room, anyway) have a characterless veneer applied in the past that stripped all of the period charm from them, and hopefully, the renovated ones will recapture some of that. We were lucky to get this, the last room available (during the French Open Tennis Tourney), and the manager was very accommodating. We just needed one night and planned to visit the chateau the next morning and then off to Paris. The municipal underground parking (15 euros/24 hrs.) was just steps away, and the chateau was across the street. Best of all - the restaurant. We had a simply impeccable meal here. It was crowded with locals and tourists as well, and the wine service was also excellent. Hotel desk staff were waiting tables and doing the sommelier bit and being very friendly but efficient. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a 2* hotel that is perfectly located in the center of Fontainebleau. I have stayed here four times over the past ten years and the quality and service have been consistent on each of my visits. The room cost Euro 75-80 per night plus breakfast and you get what you pay for and more. My room had a view onto the Chateau and was larger than average with a large bathroom en suite.

The staff were very accommodating. Business services are limited and the wireless connection is good but is limited to one hour so you have to sign in again, but what do you expect from a 2* small hotel. If you are looking for these types of services, then you should stay at the Mercure or Ibis which are much less representative of the area and sterile. This small hotel is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget to mid-range option.

PS The new management are making some much needed renovations since the former owners kind of let it go.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room looking onto the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imola
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Small hotel in city center of Fontainbleu, near Chateux, near bar and coffe.
Very kind and simple (2star) but not low level, good price.
Very nice people at reception, friendly and smiling.
Large and simple room, clean and silent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barzaglivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#6 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Londres
Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Property: Hotel Le Richelieu
Address: 4 rue de Richelieu, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Richelieu Fontainebleau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing