We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost at the top of their game.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Richelieu
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost at the top of their game.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here one night as we finished our trip around the north of France.

The hotel was a little difficult to find, but not that bad.

The hotel rooms were large enough and the facilities were very good. This is not the most expensive in town, but not the cheapest either.

The couple who run it were marvellous.

It is centrally situated. We found parking nearby and checked in quickly and efficiently.

We then went on a walk around the Chateau that afternoon.

In the evening we received instructions so we could walk around the town before returning to the hotel for dinner.

The food was very good. I would recommend anyone staying to use the Baccus for their evening meal.

Room Tip: Depends on your measurement for good. They have rooms to the front on a main road, but these have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    55
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
58
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm giving 4 stars to the experience, not necessarily the hotel. The owners could not have been more gracious, and the restaurant they run downstairs (Bacchus) is quaint, wine-focused and full of locals. This is a hotel of character, the kind where (like I did) you go up stairs, around corners, down stairs, then up stairs to get to your room. My room had some big swing-out windows with a nice view of part of the Chateau. It was probably one of the smaller rooms, but I was solo and wasn't in the room all that much. Don't stay here if you want a generic hotel, or a luxury hotel, but do stay if you want to meet some nice people and experience the place. Use the money you save relative to other more expensive options to enjoy lovely nearby restaurants like l'Axel or La Petite Ardois.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTB_BostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Only stayed one night on our way through, was very glad I chose to stay so close to the centre of Fontainbleau. It is clear that the hotel has had a lot of work put into it recently with everything neat and clean. The room was perfectly French: tall windows looking out onto a tree-lined avenue and the Chateau. The staff were knowledgeable and attentive with good English.
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r_i_c_h_a_r_d_1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had a nice room with a great view in this hotel. We were right across the street from both the chateau and the theater. Anything we wanted was within a close walk, including a parking garage. The room was equipped with a fan, which made it feel like home to me. The staff was helpful and friendly. The bathroom was very large with a huge soaking tub and shower. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Large rooms in close proximity to Château de Fontainebleau. Friendly staff. Traffic noise in the morning ensures that you don't sleep in & miss the reason for coming to Fontainebleau.

Rooms are quite basic - but we didn't come to Fontainebleau to spend a lot of time in the Hotel.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAirRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went to Fontainebleau for 1 night to enjoy the castle and surroundings. This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel and what a pleasant surprise. The rooms have been upgraded and are very,very nice. The wonderful couple who now own the hotel are working hard to make it perfect and are very hospitable. Do try the Bacchus restaurant in the hotel, it was the best meal we had in France.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, it could be a little noisier but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel for eleven years now, and this is the only place to stay in Fontainebleau. There has been some changes in staff and management over the years but the denominator is friendliness and hospitality. They really want to have the best time. Apart from located in the best part of Fontainebleau there is also extremely easy access to parking. This has improved over the past two years. The hotel has an atmosphere of French wine yards and the narrow corridors which gives you the impressions of being in the wine cellar. The breakfast is very good and a necessity if you choose to stay. This breakfast used to be legendary for its simplicity but with high. Fresh baguette with premium ham or salami covered by a mature comtè.. it’s hard to not love that… Good coffee as well, which is very important for me. All in all… the only place to stay in Fontainebleau.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Londres
Londres
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Property: Hotel Le Richelieu
Address: 4 rue de Richelieu, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Richelieu Fontainebleau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing