We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap !”
Review of Au Pied de Fouet

Au Pied de Fouet
Ranked #1,188 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Cheap !”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We have been eating here for quite a long time. For a St Germain restaurant this is cheap, very cheap. The food is good but basic - the main trade off is the way the tables are rammed in. There is a mezzanine floor - but this itself has been forced into the tiny restaurant. The service is variable as staff turnover seems incredibly high. The wine never tastes that good - I wouldn't spend too much as the price doesn't seem to affect the quality!
It is, however, great fun and full of atmosphere. As is typical of cheaper restaurants outside Paris, you retain the cutlery you use for your stater for use with the main course.
There are no bookings accepted - so, if you want to be sure of a table, get here for 7.30. Often the place will be full by 8.00.
Finally, make sure that the review you read relates to the right Pied au Fouet. There are, I think, three restaurants of the same name with similar menus (all owned by the same family) and i have seen reviews of different restaurants that have slipped in to the wrong page.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    221
    38
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lunch at Au Pied de Fouet”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I had lunch at Au Pied de Fouet. It was a rainy day and was sprinkling off and on. I had to wait outside about 5 minutes to be seated at a table. The staff was very efficient and got everyone in and out without rushing the customers. I had the the special fixed price meal for 11 euros. It was a delicious veal and rice with mushrooms. The servings were just the right size. The atmosphere is real cute and cozy. This bistro is located at 50 rue st. benoit in the St Germain area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paristx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tiny and charming neighborhood bistro”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Located in the 6th arr. on a narrow neighborhood street, this bistro serves home cooking in a charming storefront with a few tables outside. Portions are moderate, prices are low, food quality was good and service was friendly and excellent. My friends and I sat outside and enjoyed the people watching on R. St. Benoit. Easy walk to Odeon Metro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Ask_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We are staying in Rue Beaux Arts which is just around the corner and was looking for a good "French" meal. This is a quaint little French place, not very big a few tables downstairs and a few more up. Kitchen is small with only room for two people.

The food was very good and quite cheap. It's not haut cuisine but good food at a decent price. The menu is not extensive but what they do, they do well. Service is very friendly and the food arrives very quickly. This is not the place for a romatic dinner over a bottle of wine.

The duck confit was great and the potato mash scrumptious, deserts of chocholate cake were demolished by the teenages while the Tiramisu (yes I know its not french) was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 617barkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howth, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Satisfying eats”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stopped here on my way back from the Sorbonne for a quick bite to eat. Salade aux gesiers, viande de jour and Brie de meaux. The service was quick, attentive and the food good

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Pied de Fouet also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied de Fouet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing