We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place and fantastic value”
Review of Au Pied de Fouet

Au Pied de Fouet
Ranked #1,277 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Terrific place and fantastic value”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a couple of starters and a couple of plates. The duck confit is to die for. The beef dish we had was pretty good but unspectacular. One of us had salad dishes that were also not spectacular. We also had two desserts - tarte myrtille and tarte tatin, both excellent. This is really good "country French" cooking without a lot of pizzazz at prices that make it the best value restaurant in the area (and it is a really expensive area, generally speaking).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F00lishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    222
    38
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfy French food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was so good and reasonable we went twice and menu was new and very good both times. Small and cute and really French.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In love with this restaurant”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This was a chance find, was wondering down the street and my partner spotted this place and suggested we ate there, it's was really busy but had to wait 5 mins to get seated, this place had only about 18 covers!! It's so sweet tbe smallest restaurant ever with the biggest personality, staff are friendly, food is great, very unpretentious , an value is incredible, we had 4 course meal and bottle of red for 50euros!! The menu is simple and good, please eat here, don't get suckered into tourist traps!! Keep up the good work x

Helpful?
2 Thank danny849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Best value meal in Paris”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This tiny restaurant is situated in the heart of expensive St Germain. There are a few restaurants nearby with similar prices - but they are tourist traps and the food is usually pretty awful (I have been to just every one).
The food here is basic - but it is cooked well. I have never had a bad meal. When we have guests to stay (we have a flat just down the road) we usually take them to a variety of restaurants in different parts of Paris - but this is invariably their favourite.
It is incredibly cheap. So, how do they do it?
They do not accept bookings and just fill the cramped tables in order. There may be empty tables elsewhere in the restaurant but you will be seated at the table they are currently filling - if a party of two you may have to share your table.
If you want to be sure of a place get there by 7pm (7.30pm latest). By 8pm the place will be full and there is usually a queue.
The first course will arrive quickly - closely followed by the main course. Having said that, I have never been rushed at the end of a meal.
The only other downside is that the wine is usually rather ordinary. I have tried the house wine and some more expensive wines - but they are all very ordinary.
So, cramped tables and ordinary wine. If you can put up with these two downsides you will enjoy a great atmosphere and good food at just about the cheapest prices in Paris.
I really recommend it - it feels as though you are in a family run bistro in a remote French village in 1975. If you have grown weary of the incredibly up market shops with their incredibly high prices in this locality, this will be a breath of fresh air.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good typical French meal!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a very nice meal, the restaurant is not expensive and the staff really nice. The tartar as well as the duck were fabulous!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Pied de Fouet also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied de Fouet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing