We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track...but worth the stop. ”

Le Palais de Raja Maharaja
Ranked #4,621 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located at the epicenter of Paris, we have been serving the finest tasting Indian Food for over a decade. We specialize in a wide variety of Indian delicacies for lunch as well as dinner. Our clients especially love our Chicken Tikka Masala, Aloo Gobi and Shrimp Vindaloo just to name a few. What’s more, we serve you with everything cooked in-house.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track...but worth the stop. ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The place is off a main road, so it isn't a place you just walk by. We wanted something different and thanks to the TripAdvisor app we were able to find it! We love Indian food so we were excited to eat here. The prices were reasonable and the portions were good. The food was authentic and delicious. I thought the service could have been friendlier, but that could have been because it was near the tail end of lunch and they wanted to close up. We were surprised at the price of naan which was 2.5E for one small piece. To be fair though most place charge a lot of money for bread/dough. The food was delicious and worth a stop.

Helpful?
Thank Nez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    78
    27
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Lauderdale, fl.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A change of venue”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We needed a change from French food and as we love Indian food, we found this restaurant around the corner from our hotel. It was delicious.
The owner waited on us, and made sure we enjoyed our dinner. He even offered us an after dinner drink!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank middleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Okay, I have not eaten other Indian food in Paris, so I am only comparing it to a San Francisco experience, but I was really taken with this place. The owner was very friendly with us. Upon another return before we left Paris, he treated us to complimentary drinks as they were closing but he allowed us to stay. He has a special house aperitif drink, and homemade ice cream that has 20 ingredients. The foods are all freshly made with aromatic spices. The eggplant dish was the bomb. Everything was delicious and freshly prepared. The atmosphere is more upscale, so you can dine a bit. We had Indian wine which at first reminded us of the back of a pick-up truck, but decidedly grew on us as we had another bottle on the second return. This food was great! Worth crossing town for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love Indian food and we try and eat Indian in whichever country we are in. This was one of our favorite restaurants. The owner is so passionate about his food and it makes the experience all the more enjoyable. The food was excellent and service excellent. We will most definitely be back when we are next I'm Paris.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of this world Indian food with friendly service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Firstly, the service is very friendly. The owner is a gregarious personality who is definitely not shy to propose ways in which to enjoy the food. The prices are very reasonable...especially for Paris. The quality and taste of the food is SUPERB! Try the Lamb Shank barbeque, cheese naan. prawn tandoori, saag paneer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Palais de Raja Maharaja also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Palais de Raja Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing