We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open late, decent food”

Le Palais de Raja Maharaja
Ranked #4,800 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located at the epicenter of Paris, we have been serving the finest tasting Indian Food for over a decade. We specialize in a wide variety of Indian delicacies for lunch as well as dinner. Our clients especially love our Chicken Tikka Masala, Aloo Gobi and Shrimp Vindaloo just to name a few. What’s more, we serve you with everything cooked in-house.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Open late, decent food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Palais du Raja Maharaja is located close to the Eiffel tower. We were super hungry after going to the top of the Tower. By the time we came down, it was 10.50 pm, and the restaurant closes at 11pm. We rushed to the restaurant. The owner was kind enough to let us in, even though it seemed they were closing up shop. There was no one else as it was Tuesday night. We ordered take away. It was fun talking to the owner, who mentioned he doesn’t entertain large groups and believes in quality over quantity. They did take some time to make our order, so it didn’t seem like they were serving readymade curries. We tried the samosa, Kadai paneer and baingan bharta with some naan. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the lawns of Eiffel tower – I’d recommend that than sitting in the boring ambiance of the Raja Maharaja restaurant. The food was fresh and tasty, my only complaint is that the samosas were too small and the dishes were too hot (even for an Indian palette). Prices were around €11-12 per dish (no rice or naan included), which was fairly typical in Paris.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuvarajvima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    77
    26
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy, welcoming and great tasting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Although I had read some negative reviews about this restaurant, I decided to try it. I'll sum up my evening in three points:
1. The food tastes great, you'll end up regretting you can only eat so much
2. The service is fast and the waiters, especially the boss, are very friendly. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming
3. The price is reasonable, a basic meal being around 25-30€/person.

As a conclusion: you're not likely to be disappointed !

Helpful?
1 Thank Jmgb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good indian food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The food was really great at this indian resturant. Good service as well as reasonable prices. The mango lassie was really good as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
“Delicious food and great service! ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted to have a good family meal for our last night in Paris and found this place on TripAdvisor. The food was delicious and the owner and his employees gave us great personal service. He joked with the children, making us feel welcome. The portions were a bit small and the rice should have been included. Otherwise a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Per Gunnar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service from an Indian Restuarant if you are Indian Diner”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice restaurant ,good tasting food convenient location.......AS LONG AS YOU ARE NOT AN INDIAN OR ASIAN.
Hell of a difference between the way the owner treats French patrons and indians ...( he himself is indian sadly )
It was late ,we just arrived in paris,my 3 yr old daughter was hungry so decided to go there as was next to out hotel. Asked the owner to start with some rice and curry for my daughter while we decide for ourselves... Pretty common everywhere !!
Answer from him : it doesnt work this way u decide first and i will come later and he just storms away to another table .comes back after good 15 min.

food for other French tables comes in pretty fast ,our comes out after another 20 min .

quantity is like a child meal .half the small containers that he brought !!
over priced items. Wont recommend to anyone unless ur dying of hunger and have 1 hr to spare !!

PS: try to be more courteous to your fellow countrymen as well Mr Maharaja !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rajju1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Palais de Raja Maharaja also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Palais de Raja Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing