We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good for the price”
Review of Le Latin

Le Latin
Ranked #13,439 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good for the price”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Me and my partner accidentally came across this restaurant last year and was surprised at how cheap the menu was. We expected the food to not be up to scratch given the price but it was really good! We had frogs legs followed by the cheese fondu and it was delicious.
The service was good given it was a busy evening. This place is great for young travellers or anyone on a budget.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    55
    36
    21
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was okay, food was poor”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I ate here tonight and we were disappointed with the food. The two servers were working hard and friendly and lured us to sit down. The escargots were salty and tasteless. The mussels were okay but that's pretty difficult to mess up. The beef steak was oily and chewy. The fondue was a joke as sitting outside the pot would not heat up. Thereafter the nice fellow warmed up the fondue and we had deep fried meat. The dessert consisted of a crepe with some chocolate sprayed on it without any care. Wow, there must have been a change in ownership as this restaurant appears pretty old but with this kind of food there must not be many repeat customers. But, oh, there will always be unsuspecting tourists, but hopefully this post will steer them away to a better place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the better choices in an are where the food has gone downhill”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Pretty restaurant with fairly solid, well prepared food in an area that has become somewhat of a tourist trap. The onion soup and roast chicken were very good. It's a pity that the Latin Quarter now seems like a Disney World set full of faux French restaurants, but, in our experience, this one still makes it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kapiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Paris!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were walking through the alleys and looking for a place to stop for lunch and could not decide where to go because everything looked so interesting. The only reason we stopped here is because we saw a table that was available and situated so we would have a good view of everyone walking by. We love people watching. They offered a 3 course meal for 10 euros as well as other 3 course meals for a little more and up to 18 euros. We decided on the 10 euro meal because the choices sounded really good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful even though she was the only person working the entire restaurant and she was extremely busy. We heard that french servers had the reputation for being rude but we did not experience that once during our entire trip. All of the Parisienne's we met during our visit couldn't have been nicer. We started with salads, then my husband had the steak au poivre which was served with potatoes and he liked it very much. I had the beef bourguignon and it was in a mild red wine sauce with potatoes and carrots and very much 'comfort food'. The portions were large and filling. For dessert, my husband had the very delicious chocolate ice cream that doesn't sound very exciting but it was an intense chocolate flavor. I had the chocolate mousse which was also an intense and delicious chocolate flavor. I would highly recommend this restaurant for quality, friendly service and a reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marylandusacpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The mussels as an appetizer were not very good. So we were off to a bad start. Bothe of our entrees were on the good side of average. Loved the seating and the location

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDG609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Latin also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing