We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Varangue - CLOSED

La Varangue
Price range: US$22 - US$43
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident and were drawn in as it offered vegetarian options and we had one in our group. The restaurant is very small and can seat 30 people maximum with Philippe the owner also being the chef and waiter. The menu range is quite small but the food which is cooked is superb as the focus is on quality over quantity. We had the beef bourguignon which was freshly made and extremely tasty. This was followed up with a homemade chocolate cake and this was all served up with some good local red wine. Philippe also kept everyone entertained with his jokes and was very welcoming to all of the tourists. I will certainly be paying this restaurant a visit next time I'm in Paris.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    10
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food as well as value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My first trip to Paris. Was with my wife and daughter and her boyfriend. We stumbled upon this place and saw the Trip Advisor rating in the window. Did a quick review of the comments and decided to give it a try. We were really glad we did as the food was excellent and we felt we got a really good taste of authentic French food without a huge price tag and overhead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I was in Paris for a weekend away with another Mum friend, having left our other halves and kids at home in London. This small friendly restaurant near the Eiffel Tower and even nearer our hotel was just what we needed after a busy day sightseeing. Friendly owner, good food, reasonable price. I had snails (!) and boeuf bourgignon so very French but they catered very well for my friend's vegetarian choice too, an avocado salad and a vegetable tart with goat's cheese. Pudding was yummy, chocolate cake and tarte au citron. The chef came to talk to us and the service was speedy and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a quaint neighborhood place run by a french born man, Phillippe, that used to live in the US. It seats maybe 16 and he cooks with a view to the dining area. He is very personable and always lets Americans know which is the most authentic dish on the menu, with the code words-"Very French"....not expensive and his jug wine is superb. Try the boudin noir if it is on the menu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DuffyShort2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I'm french and I know a lot about french food and believe me this place is an insult for my country. We went there because some friends of mine visiting paris for the first time bought a groupon voucher. The owner who is also the chef and the waiter was SO rude that we decided to leave before the food even arrived. When we asked him for the price of a bottle of cote du rhone he basically gave us the menu and asked us to check ourselves!!!!! And when i saw the entrecôte steaks defrosting in the sink that was too much. So we'd prefer to waste the voucher than get sick. To conclude you would do yourself a huge favour if you don't stop by that place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanelucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing