We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”
Review of La Varangue - CLOSED

La Varangue
Price range: US$22 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were not in the mood to fight for a spot on a Paris terrace only to be ignored by the waiters. We knew Phillipe's place existed because of Rick Steve, and we're happy to have been served a delicious French meal with excellent service and good wine. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    10
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrifice Restaraunt”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A little off-the-beaten path restaurant run by solo chef, Phillipe. The food is absolutely amazing especially their rabbit (lapin) with thin gravy and mashed potatoes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Paris treasure”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We learned that finding a good restaurant in France is a matter of wandering the streets of the town you are in. Sometimes in Paris, we searched for an hour going up and down the streets away from the tourist areas. We were reading the menu in the window of La Varangue when a couple sitting at a table told us to come in and we wouldn't be disappointed. The owner/chef, Philippe welcomed us and after his beautiful daughter took our drink order he brought over a portable chalkboard. That's the menu! It changes daily with some standard favorites. Philippe cooks everything himself, with fresh ingredients in a kitchen you can see from any table. As he's cooking he interacts with the customers and he's funny and delightful. He speaks pretty good English and there are quite a few decorations from the USA. He lived in Pennsylvania and had a restaurant there for several years before returning to Paris. Two of us had his special beet salad and loved it and two had wonderful lobster bisque. For the entree, we had tender, flavorful pork chops that melted in your mouth and a beef bourguigon, so tasty! The vegetables and mashed potatoes were fresh and homemade. Créme Brûlée for desert had a wonderful orange tone, we all loved it. I got his special chocolate cake.....to die for!! More people came to eat and it turns out this is a restaurant that everyone on the Rick Steves tour comes to, who knew? We wanted to eat there again the next night since it would be our last night in Paris. Philippe said he was going to be filled with the tour, but he would open early for us. We were there at 5 and enjoyed his rabbit dinner, it was a wonderful way to celebrate our trip. His prices are reasonable also. This restaurant is not to be missed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome again”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Six years ago we stumbled upon this fantastic restaurant. It was too good to be true. Here we are again, back in Paris and headed straight to LaVarangue.

Do not miss this treasure. It's a family run business so don't expect waiters in tuxedos. For euro 15.00 you can order duck, rabbit, beef bourguigon and if you're a vegetarian, he has some delightful options.

The owner Phillipe Malloy has remodeled the interior, so it's super clean and beautiful.

We cannot wait to visit again before we leave Paris!

He opens at 17:30 and takes reservations.

Helpful?
Thank 1ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Value, delightful chef/owner”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stumbled on this tiny restaurant near our hotel, and went in only because we saw the TA sticker, though we hadn't read the TA evaluations.
My wife and I both had the salmon and thought it was about the best we had ever eaten. Philippe, the chef and owner, was fun to watch as he smiled, interacted with his guests, in addition to his cooking. The dinner plate was an amazing 14.50 euros.
With only seven tables, you might want to get there early, as many came only to be turned away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing