We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of Le Colimacon

Le Colimacon
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Le Colimacon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #358 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$67
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Description: In the heart of the Marais District in the historical area the Colimaçon is a typical french and Parisian restaurant. Traditional french cuisine is serving in a nice and cosy atmosphere only 40 seats with air conditioning.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Small but cosy restaurants situated in a side street in Paris not too far from the town hall. The building itself is small and narrow but full of character. We were led up a spiral staircase to the upstairs and on a hot summers evening the cool breeze from the large open windows were very welcome.

The food was delicious if not a little pricey. The salmon tartare was very high quality, followed by a leg of rabbit stuffed with foie gras and mushroom. The fruit salad dessert was rather different from any other, cut into small cubes and served with sorbet.

Certainly somewhere I would return to, off the tourist trail and appearing to be very traditional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    209
    55
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our foodie dinner companions were impressed with the menu, which was presented on a chalk board and patiently translated for those of us who are not fluent in French. Sweetbreads, rabbit, and duck were among our choices; they were deemed "wonderful", "very good", and "good" respectively. The selected wine received compliments. Delicious desserts were devoured. I enjoyed the meal, but this would not be my first choice of a restaurant to go back to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“fall in love with... restaurant”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful place. We came here by chance, with no recommendation and no reservation - were so lucky to get a table on warm April Saturday evening. And we returned here 2 more times within the same week!! Because the food is rare pleasure, because the service is just great, because if you are too lazy to choose the wine - you would be offered to try something and it would be absolutely what you actually wanted! Because you feel yourself so nicely cared and happy, that you'd like to come back again and again! This place and it's great team made me love Paris at least twice more :) Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a place....best meal ever !”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Without doubt the finest meal we have ever enjoyed!
Lovely people, fabulous food and a real honour to have eaten here. We will return to Paris just to eat here again !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Becoming a tourist trap?”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Trip Advisor reviews encouraged us to try this restaurant and we made reservations for a Sunday evening at 19:00 which is when the restaurant opens. We were the first to arrive and so I was very surprised when the waitress wanted to place us at a table for 2 directly next to the cash desk....definitely the worst table possible since there would be constant back and forth traffic! Seeing my hesitation the waitress finally suggested a better table. The waitress was quick to offer to all the tourists that arrived a cocktail of sparkling wine with mint and lime (7 Euros) - a mojito-style drink doesn't really suit the French food and seemed definitely out of place (a more appropriate option would have been welcomed). We had starters: I splurged for the 'Pain perdu de foie gras et magret de canard fumé' which I found was predominantly bread with very little meat and I really didn't taste the foie gras at all - the balsamic reduction was a bit too sweet... a disappointment at 18Euros! My companion had the 'Croustillant de Chevre à la tomate et miel sauce Pistou' which was basically 2 layers of sliced tomato with goat cheese with the sweetish sauce.....not too much taste but refreshing. For our main meal I had the stuffed rabbit leg which was very good, and my friend had a stuffed cod which she enjoyed. The gentlemen that brought us our wine was very helpful and courteous. We decided not to have dessert. On the whole, the ambiance of the restaurant is pleasant. However maybe its success with tourists is making it a bit overly confident - gaining a good reputation is difficult to achieve however losing it can happen very quickly if considerations towards tourists (which I believe is this restaurant's main customer base) slacken or become too stereotyped.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pt-laval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Colimacon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Colimacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing