We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy spot, fun night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Colimacon

Le Colimacon
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Le Colimacon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #397 of 16,841 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$64
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Description: In the heart of the Marais District in the historical area the Colimaçon is a typical french and Parisian restaurant. Traditional french cuisine is serving in a nice and cosy atmosphere only 40 seats with air conditioning.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,253 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Cozy spot, fun night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This restaurant, an assuming front on a street in the Marais, has a very cozy atmosphere, with its signature spiral staircase and small number of tables on both floors. The exposed wood beams, menu on a chalkboard, and old-world feel made for a great feel--the perfect place to settle in for a leisurely meal with friends.

Service was wonderful. Some confusion about the reservation time was handled with grace by the staff. The French menu was very happily translated orally into English. The server was hospitable throughout the evening and had a great sense of humor; he oozed hospitality.

The food was not my very favorite in Paris, but was excellent nonetheless. A fish appetizer was very fresh with nice notes of smokiness. The escargot served in puff pastry cups was a highlight--truly delicious and a nice variation on the classic. The risotto with shrimp was a bit of a disappointment; I wanted the risotto to be creamier. Overall, though, a very good meal.

Would happily return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    205
    54
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Small but cosy restaurants situated in a side street in Paris not too far from the town hall. The building itself is small and narrow but full of character. We were led up a spiral staircase to the upstairs and on a hot summers evening the cool breeze from the large open windows were very welcome.

The food was delicious if not a little pricey. The salmon tartare was very high quality, followed by a leg of rabbit stuffed with foie gras and mushroom. The fruit salad dessert was rather different from any other, cut into small cubes and served with sorbet.

Certainly somewhere I would return to, off the tourist trail and appearing to be very traditional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our foodie dinner companions were impressed with the menu, which was presented on a chalk board and patiently translated for those of us who are not fluent in French. Sweetbreads, rabbit, and duck were among our choices; they were deemed "wonderful", "very good", and "good" respectively. The selected wine received compliments. Delicious desserts were devoured. I enjoyed the meal, but this would not be my first choice of a restaurant to go back to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“fall in love with... restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful place. We came here by chance, with no recommendation and no reservation - were so lucky to get a table on warm April Saturday evening. And we returned here 2 more times within the same week!! Because the food is rare pleasure, because the service is just great, because if you are too lazy to choose the wine - you would be offered to try something and it would be absolutely what you actually wanted! Because you feel yourself so nicely cared and happy, that you'd like to come back again and again! This place and it's great team made me love Paris at least twice more :) Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a place....best meal ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Without doubt the finest meal we have ever enjoyed!
Lovely people, fabulous food and a real honour to have eaten here. We will return to Paris just to eat here again !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Colimacon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Colimacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing