We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short stay”
Review of Maison du Pre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison du Pre
Ranked #1,309 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel was okay, the room was okay and clean, but all standard. You can not open the windows in you room without someone on the other side looking in. The distance of the rooms are too close.
During our 2 days stay (June 1st-2nd, 2013), we had 3 difference men at the reception. Only one of them was friendly, the one when we checked in. The other two were totally unfriendly. Smile is just not on their book I guess. Or they're just French!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank carladl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

As most European inner city hotels, rooms are small compared to American hotels. But we did not come to spend our time in the room. Our room was very clean, toilette was separate from the bathroom, good if you are don't travel alone. We stayed one week and looked forward to an outstanding breakfast every morning. Thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1kearsarge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

To summarize the experience:
-convenient location ( Just next to Gare du Norde, direct connection to the airport with the RER)
-small room as usual in Paris hotels
-friendly staff, (Bill at the reception is a good guy)
-basic breakfast (crosissant and a hot drink)
-very-very small bathroom (2x1 m)
-good price

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank komuvesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel with my family. It wasn't bad for one night but would have some drawbacks for longer stay. Our room was very small and has no window (besides the one opening to dark center hall). You wouldn't want to be in it except sleep time. May be other rooms could be better. It had an LCD TV with main intl. channels. The room and beds were clean. The bathroom was very small too. There wasn't a bathtub, but a narrow shower cabin. It was clean and had enough towels and other stuff. Staff was OK but they didn't want to give me any suggestion about car parking. Perhaps didn't want to take responsibility. Yes, there's a parking problem if you have a car. But it's usual for Paris, not specific to this area. It's close to Gare du Nord and metro station. So it's so easy to get there and go around. Area is quiet and seemed safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oktay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is very small.. the rooms are tiny.. not much place for suitcases.. brakfast is the smallest ive ever seen..the rooms are clean.
overall, its ok for a night or two in paris.. but not something spacial and quite expensive..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just booked this hotel by means of Neckermann / Thomas Cook for a few days on my own in Paris. Had a superdeal but didn't really know what to expect. Was quite amazed by the quality of this rather low budget hotel in Paris.

I was kindly and correctly welcomed by the staff. They seem to be helpfull and are also in for a small talk. You can deposit your luggage in case the your room isn't ready yet (from 14.00 on).

The rooms are rather small. Small double sized beds, but it seems enough. You have a small wardrobe to put some stuff in. You have a separate toilet. The shower and slink are located together in another place, but in a way you really can handle it. The room was very (very) clean. The bed was made up every day, the waste paper basket was emptied and it seemed as if the washing place was cleaned when I returned. There is a small television (LG Flatscreen) on the wall and you have about 18 channels, most of them in French. But some of them in another language (German, Spanish, Italian). My room was located on the third floor. There is no airco but most of the time you don't need in Paris and the staff made sure that the window was opened, so you had fresh air. At night it's better to close the window, because the street is a bit noisy. I was frightened a bit, becaused I read in some reviews (here or on other sites, I don't remember) that it would be very noisy in the hotel ... And yes: if the neighbours are really loud (laughing, having fun, ...) you can maybe hear it, but it's really not that bad. I experienced allready other stuff in other places. I slept really wel in fact and I'm a bit sensitive to noise. I think the hotel also attracts more quiet people cause of the location (see further on).

The breakfast was very basic: orange juice, one croissant, one sandwich, some butter, some jam, a bit of cheese and rather real good coffee.More typically French in fact and I think you can't expect more for this amount of money. And they don't refuse if you ask an extra leaf of bread.

The location is near to 'Le gare du Nord' (less than 10 minutes walk and easy to find). Some people told me before it was maybe not that good, cause stations have their own problems (and other stereotypes). Living in Brussels myself, I can tell it can be really worse in the surroundings of the stations (e.g. hookers here, etc). You can freely walk around and I had a really safe feeling in the neigbourhood even at 12.00 o' clock at night. But I also have to admit at evenings I wouldn't walk further than metro Barbès - Rochechouart (métro de Paris), but maybe it was coincidence I saw some funny guys that night. And it's a big city anyway.

The location is splendid for visiting Paris and Europe. You're near to the metro and near to an international train station.

You can eat at really low prices in the surroundings of the hotel: microwave Chinese restaurants (like you find them a lot in Paris), Mc Donalds, ..., You can also find better things to eat at fare prices. A hint for your Paris trips: go and eat something in the sidelanes and not on big squares or avenues. Can really differ in price. (Even for a coffee with milk 2.30 euros <-> 5 euros). The location of the hotel is near to Montmartre (10 - 15 minutes walk). There you can find many restaurants and cafes. The location is not that well if you really won't to go out till about 5 o' clock in the morning. But certainly well if you're with two and just want to spend some nice time.

Would this hotel have been three or four stars, I would have given it really less than excellent (9 out of 10 in this case). But I think you can't really get much better deals. Don't expect too much luxury and lots of comfort and total service, because then you'll have to pay for it. Seems logical. And Paris is not cheap. But if you just want to have a pleasant stay at a fare price and you're not going for total night life: this is really a place to be. I've seen many parts of France and slept at a lot of places (mostly Chambres d'hôtes), but this one is a honest and certainly clean deal.

Room Tip: Try to have a floor on the higher level. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Paris and this is the best....good value for the money.

Room Tip: Extremely clean and kind man at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jassoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,220 of 1,809 in Paris
86 reviews
Residence du Pre
#675 of 1,809 in Paris
242 reviews
Hotel Beauvoir
#1,424 of 1,809 in Paris
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Timhotel Nation
#1,387 of 1,809 in Paris
527 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Relais du Pre
#1,000 of 1,809 in Paris
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Pre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Pre

Address: 88 rue de Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,309 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maison du Pre 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Center of Paris near “Gare du Nord”, close to the “Grands Boulevards”, “the Opera” and “Montmartre”, the completely renovated Hôtel Maison du Pré offers you the comfort of its 40 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison du Pre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Pre Hotel Paris
Maison Du Pre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing