We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and good service!”
Review of Chez Germaine

Chez Germaine
Ranked #1,573 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place and good service!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

While visiting Paris, we decided to give a try to this lovely place. It was a great experience! Friendly staff and the design was really nice. Food was good, the steak i had was delicious and its very cozy and has lovely wallpapers. good prices also! The waiter was so friendly also to order us a taxi and manage to get us a nice cognac.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Argentina in Paris, small and nice restaurant, good food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is one of these very small restaurants where Argentinian steak with Malbec go hand in hand on the menu with French meals. Nice place, I come here often and was never disappointed. For a nice evening with friends you have a no-nonsense nice glass of wine at a reasonable price in the generally-posh 7th district: gratin dauphinois, pork with lentils, or herring with potatoes in a laid-back, intimate setting. Portions are generous and the service is friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really Excellent Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

So apparently I came by too early, this place doesn’t open until 7:30 so if you’re too early go wander around Les Invalides a few blocks away, but don’t get lost because this place is a little bit hidden. Excellent food though the fixed price menu is only for lunch. I had a class of Sauvignon Blanc with Risotto recommended by the waiter, which were both excellent. The risotto was properly cooked and not crunchy and the Sauvignon was smooth and light which complemented the meal perfectly.
But wait, there’s dessert! The ice cream was amazing! I know what you’re thinking, “How can you be in Paris and eating ice cream and not a pastry or something?” Because this was handmade, ice cream and you could taste it. I had three scoops and though small, each was super intense. The coffee tasted like actual espresso was added, the chocolate was way better than any “dutch” chocolate you can buy in a grocery store stateside, and the confiture de lait (Dulce de lecher) had notes of butter scotch and vanilla. Go walk off dessert around the giant gold dome of Les Invalides.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good discovery in Paris”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Found this restaurant tucked away in a street close to where we were staying. Friendly and efficient service and tasty, value for money food. Enjoyed the fish special, others had the veal and the burger with accompaniments which was excellent. Also enjoyed berry Mille feuille but not exactly a 1000 layers - only 2!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia6048_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
383 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but not the bargain some suggested”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The setting is charming, small and contemporary. The bargain price is for the plat du jour. Other than that the prices is consistent with neighborhood bistro's, My wife had the pla du join, veal liver with mashed potatoes. I settled for the Charcuteire. She thoroughly enjoyed her calves liver. I though the cheese and meat selections were slightly below average. She would go again. I would opt for somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Germaine also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Germaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing