We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, fabulous location - would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Ranked #725 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here for four nights and found the location to be simply perfect. Located on a very quiet side street it's shielded from the noise and the bustle, but yet literally a stone's throw is the bustle of Bd Saint-Germain, which is full of cafés, bars and restaurants - ideal for a short stroll back in the evening. Very near by are the major sights of Notre Dame and the Pantheon, the latter (if you're lucky enough to get one) can be seen from the upper floor rooms. Saint-Michele Notre Dame station is a 5 minute walk and has trains direct to Charles De Gaulle airport.

The hotel itself looks like it has been recently renovated, and the rooms are modern and clean, though admittedly small. The bathroom in particular was rather tiny and the smoked glass toilet wall/door and the gap between the bathroom door and glass wall means that those sharing with someone with whom they're not that intimate may feel slightly awkward. But hey, this is central Paris so I didn't expect a large room, and many continental European hotels are going that way with the loos.

I would advise against if travelling with children, it's just too small and prams/buggies in the lift would make it a very tight squeeze.

There's always someone on the desk, with whom you leave your key when you go out, and they're friendly and extremely helpful. Oh, and one last thing, personally I found it great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

I haven't written hotel reviews in a while, never been good at it, but here goes.

I don't have high standards when it comes to hotels, mostly I stay in the cheapest, clean, places I can find. A hotel is only for sleeping in, right?
That's probably partly why I was very pleasantly surprised as I entered the lobby of Hotel de Notre Dame, which I had booked only the night before. Think chic and modern with a rustic blend. Rococo-chairs clad in Designer's Guild-kind of fabrics and big chandeliers hanging down from the roof. It was very fresh and inviting.
I was in room 22.

Pros:
* LOCATION, you can walk to so many places from here, Ile St Louis is just one bridge length away, and so is Notre Dame. Nearest and most convenient metro station, Maubert Mutualité, is about 100m away. Taking the RER from CDG to St Michel takes about 30min and then you only have about a 5min, if that, walk to the hotel. Easy-peasy.
* Friendly staff. This is not a given in Paris, :).
* Very nice rooms with high ceilings, wonderfully soft linens, a rain shower which made my hair soft like a baby's, hardly any noise and clean clean clean.

Cons:
* Some design-issues. It's pretty much impossible to use the toilet with the door closed if you're not tiny with short legs. There's just not barely any space between the toilet chair and the door. However, even if the door's open and someone else, for example, sits on the bed, you can't see each other as the door opening faces a shower wall (at least in this room). But could be a privacy problem if you're not close to your travelling companion.
* The sink in the room is small, or it's more an issue with the faucet reaching too far out and thus making the sink-space much smaller. Just a small annoyance when you wash your face as it makes it difficult not to splash water around when rinsing.

Overall a hotel I can gladly recommend to anyone. It's not the Ritz and I can't comment on the service, as I never need anything extra from a hotel, but it looks good, it feels good and I slept like a baby. I won't give it five dots, only because no hotel is that perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brightdawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Close to centre and restaurants , first room offered very small but room on top floor very nice, quiet and comfortable. Pity no Bar but loads of places nearby

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agustus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Excellent central location yet in quiet side street. Friendly and helpful staff.
Very close to metro station and Batobus on the Seine for easy transport, and near to RER station for direct rail transfer from Charles de Gaulle airport.
Room very good standard for central Paris with updated decor, shower wet room and flat screen tv.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This place is in a great location and that is its saving grace. We arrived after a long trip and my husband was quite ill with a bunch of luggage that I had to drag myself and I got absolutely no help from the man at reception - in fact as soon as he saw us he ran back his desk.

There is zero sound insulation, we hear everything from people talking, snoring, having sex,running the shower, flushing the toilet and TV all day long. It feels like they are right in your room. Forget about sleep without earplugs.

The room is definitely on the small size and same goes for the bathroom, one person can stand there at at time. Nowhere to hang your bath towel or hand towel. There is no hook for anything in there.

We asked for a non-smoking room and we got a room that stank of cigarette smell. Made all our clothes smell of it.

The shower ran freezing cold one day and we didn't have hot water at all and weren't told about it.

No hot water kettle to make coffee in the room - such a small thing that makes a big difference to people who don't want to spend 10 Euros every day on coffee.

My pillow had hair on it when I first arrived which was really gross but I didn't expect more from a 3 star place in Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mckiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Pros:
- Great location, located within 5 minutes from san michel train location along with two other more local train stations. Super convenient, can take RER from airport to san michel station.
- Area has a lot of restuarants and bars. Some are touristy.
- Hotel was clean and bathroom was modern.
- Hotel staff was very helpful, speaks good english.

Cons:
- Hotel room was small, although good enough if you don't plan on being there besides sleeping. Have heard most paris hotels are small.
- Bathroom did not have a door
- Only ONE hook in the bathroom for bath towels (this should be an easy fix for the hotel).
- There is free wifi, but signal was weak from the room, probably ok in the lobby.

Great location with a clean room makes this a good option.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_King058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was a lovely little hotel in a perfect location if Notre Dame is on your list. The rooms were a little quirky in that the tub was in the main room but nothing a married couple can't get over. :) The rooms did have a slightly modern feel to them and were definitely clean. We would look for this hotel again on our next trip to Paris as it was a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,362 of 1,804 in Paris
210 reviews
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#578 of 1,804 in Paris
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#570 of 1,804 in Paris
583 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
1,006 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#260 of 1,804 in Paris
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Address: 19 rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £107 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet typical street of the Latin Quarter, overlooking the banks of the Seine. The hotel is located on the left bank, within walking distance of Notre Dame between the bank and the Boulevard Saint-Germain. Walking distance of the Museum of Natural History, the Institute du Monde Arabe, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. A charming place to live at best your Parisian break. Its wide facade, which once must have been a shop-window, opens with a warm reception, decorated with beautiful antique furniture and a wonderful tapestry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing