We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Ranked #691 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a gem in the Latin quarter of Paris, its in the right places for what we want it to see and do. the rooms are clean, quirky, fun. The service is very good and welcoming. yes the rooms are small but I was here to enjoy Paris not stay in the room all day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank walkaboutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    162
    43
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
177
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a typical Parisian small hotel with all the usual quirks, so I will keep my review succinct:

Positives:
- fantastic location on the Left. Notre Dame, Jardins Luxembourg, Mouffetard, Pantheon (to name a few) all nearby.
- toasty room despite cold temperatures outside
- room had a decent-sized (for Paris) bathroom with rainfall shower
- 'proper' hairdryer
- given the location, our room was relatively quiet even with the window open. It was lovely to hear the church bells on Sunday morning
- comfy bed, crisp linens and soft towels

Negatives:
- dodgy lift. I took the stairs as I was sure I was going to get trapped in it
- unfriendly lady on reception. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but a smile wouldn't have gone amiss!
- I doubt many (any?) rooms have a view of Notre Dame, if that's important to you.

Really, the negatives are just niggles and nothing to worry about. If it wasn't for the sheer number of other hotels in Paris that I'd love to try, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is a little quirky gem. The interior design in the reception and breakfast area is really fun and arty, while stylish at the same time – so Frenchy!
We had the room at the end of the (narrow) corridor on the 4th floor, facing the backyard. It was a little compact, like probably all hotel rooms in Paris, but a little larger than most (according to the floor plan on the door). The multicoloured bathtub is fun, but a little awkward to take a shower in. The bed was comfortable (firm mattress), breakfast was good and filling (11 Euros for a piece of baguette, one croissant, jam, butter, O/J, yogurt, cereal, muffins and capsule coffee – no eggs, cheese, or ham). Best of all though is the location. Hotel de Notre Dame is located in a little quiet side street and is very central. Special tips: turn left when leaving the hotel, and you’ll find a cosy bar on the corner to your right (‘The Long Hop’); keep to your right at the bar, follow the street down (Rue Lagrange) and you’ll find some local grocery stores to stock up on your provisions (although there is no fridge in your hotel room); keep going straight ahead from the bar across the main street (which is the beautiful Boulevard Saint-German) and you’ll be on your way to the Pantheon; go straight down the alley when leaving the hotel, and you already know where you are heading: Notre Dame. There is also a hop-on-hop-off boat right there, which will take you around many popular tourist spots, including the Eiffel Tower. All in all, Hotel de Notre Dame is a winner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CassandiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed there for a total of 6 nights. The location could not be better, in the 5th, close to the Notre Dame Cathedral, and to everything else. On one side, St Germain des Prés, on the other, the Seine, everything really close! INcludin the Maubert-Mutualité metro station. Maitre Albert is a quiet, quaint little street. I stayed in room 50, 5th floor, had a view of the Cathedral (more of the roof, but who cares! I LOVED it). The room was nice and spacious, but a bit odd (low slanted ceiling, which was ok for me, but my husband would never be comfortable there: he is a very tall man). Bad news, though: the bed is right next to the elevator, separated only by a paper thin wall... and the lift made a lot (I mean, A LOT!) of noise. I was lucky it was not high season, and the noise stopped at a certain time at night. I did not get to try their restaurant, mostly bcs I don't usually eat big breakfasts. The bathroom was roomy, updated, modern. The negatives: the sink was very small and very low, so the water splashed everywhere. No way around it. I wish they had a shower, not just a handshower, or at least a hook where we could hang the handshower. I don't like handshowers and would never use a tub in a hotel... I would have appreciated hooks on the walls for the towels: I had to hang them on the back of the chairs. Also, a suitcase stand would be nice. And for sure a coffee machine or an electric kettle! Also a hairdryer (I think it is available upon request). More lights are necessary: the room is really dark at night, even with the lights on. The people at the reception could be more "sympathique", except for the grayhaired lady, who is GREAT! Friendly, helpful, smiling...
The room was a bit overpriced, but hey, it is Paris after all. Would I stay there again? I am counting on going back! I left Paris for a couple of days, had a reservation somewhere else on my return, and changed it just to stay at the Notre Dame again. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carioca001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This small hotel is in prime position, tucked down a little lane, across the river directly from Notre Dame, you are seconds away from great food in the Latin Quarter, the rooms are small but tidy, there is an elevator, the front desk staff are very helpful and friendly and speak fluent english. Ask for a room with a separate shower.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Le St Regis on the Ile St Louis is a great idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nw00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent position for sightseeing, eating and public transport. No views from our room at all... Just into a tiny square made up of tall buildings.
However, we had standard room, and the bath and basin are IN the bedroom, the loo is behind an acrylic screen. No soundproofing! Not for a new relationship!
Very quiet, even with the window open.
Air con not brilliant.
Small room, but enough space/storage.
Beds are new, but very hard!
Bedding and towels are quite good. The cleanliness of the whole hotel is excellent.
We were in room 56, and this room plus room 55, are up a very steep, windy, narrow staircase. Not for the faint hearted!
The staff were great and very helpful. Receptionist has immense knowledge about how to get to places. English is very good.
Breakfast was good value, at 11€ pp, as unlimited supply of coffee, and more croissants if asked for.
The hotel is expensive, but it is Paris...

Room Tip: If new relationship, ensure proper en suite! Also any mobility probs, do not have rooms 55 or 56!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBalmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is certainly for a particular type of traveler. The location is great - it's on a small street that is very quiet, and literally a stone's throw from Notre Dame. There are also a few very cute restaurants and cafes right nearby. The lobby is quaint and the decor is fun. It's also extremely affordable. Here are some bad points: the amenities are almost nothing. They have a "breakfast" which is basically coffee, milk and cereal. Be VERY CAREFUL about which room you get. We got the room with a bathroom that had no door (awkward for 2 colleagues sharing a room!) and which had a tub with no shower head, other than the one that was attached to the faucet. Therefore, we needed to shower sitting down. The staff is pleasant though and I would stay here again on a budget....after all, Paris hotels are extremely expensive and you can risk having really bad experiences with noise and service!!

Room Tip: Find out the bathroom layout!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#231 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#236 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#614 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,357 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Property: Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Address: 19 rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet typical street of the Latin Quarter, overlooking the banks of the Seine. The hotel is located on the left bank, within walking distance of Notre Dame between the bank and the Boulevard Saint-Germain. Walking distance of the Museum of Natural History, the Institute du Monde Arabe, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. A charming place to live at best your Parisian break. Its wide facade, which once must have been a shop-window, opens with a warm reception, decorated with beautiful antique furniture and a wonderful tapestry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing