We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a good location”
Review of New Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Hotel Opera
Ranked #1,266 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Me and my friend stayed here whilst on a short break in Paris.
Reception staff were very helpful with helping us plan are days out!
Other members of staff were quite rude and would ignore out "do not disturb" and just walk straight in.
No major complaints apart from finding old pizza boxes under our beds!!
I would bring ear plugs as we were kept awake most nights from hearing people walking around and also another playing the guitar!
Would maybe go back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRP95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionnhopstl, Director at New Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We thank to send us your comment about your stay in our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience occured during your stay, and insure you that we usually do our best to let our guests spend a pleasant stay in Paris. We hope we can welcome you again in one of our hotel chain NEW HOTEL. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    124
    96
    33
    30
See reviews for
56
109
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

1)The Hotel's staff are rude, impolite and unprofessional.

2)The rooms are average but the cleanliness of the bathroom/toilet is questionable..there were signs of mould in the bath tub area. Renovation is required.

3)Blatant disregard to signs. For instance - there was a 'do not disturb' sign on our door and the member of staff twice ignored it and came in.

4)Breakfast is overpriced and absolutely not worth it. We took it at the fault of their staff for misinforming us breakfast was included with our stay. The member of staff told us it was included, which we queried as initially our booking was not for that but he assured us it was included - BIG MISTAKE as on departure we were told we had to pay for it..we refused and then later they took the money off my card WITHOUT consent. No apology until it was pointed out by us that neither member of staff apologised for their mistake..i hasten to add all they wanted to do was tell us it was "our own misunderstand" i.e. blame us. What happened to the customer is always right?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank getawaytime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

If you're looking for a place with narrow hallways in an old building with tiny rooms, this may be the place for you. It's not the best $200 a night hotel I've stayed in, but for Paris is was a good deal in a great location.

According to google maps the place has closed. I'm call them first.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank p_d_productions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionnhopstl, Directrice at New Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We thank you for your comment , and insure you that we do our best to let our guests spend a pelasant stay in Paris. There seems to be a bug with Googlemaps that we are working on.
We hope to welcome in one of our hotels in France for a next stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, it's location was brilliant, not a far walk from anywhere really. Surrounded by cafes & bars. The hotel was clean, tidy, & recently refurbished to a somewhat modern standard. The room was very small but not a box, however, as we didn't plan on staying in it for any length of time it didn't matter to us. The walls were paper thin, & would could hear our neighbours conversations, which started at 5am for some reason?! Our room was just outside the lift, & it did announce it's arrival with a chime, which was annoying at 07.00am. The staff were friendly, & extremely helpful, they spoken reasonable english & were well mannered. Great for the money, would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionnhopstl, Directrice at New Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Milly,

We are glad you appreciated your stay at our hotel and we apologise for the inconveniences you got with the noise. We will be pleased to welcome you again in one of our hotels New Hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

New Hotel Opera is a minute away from Liege station, and is very well located (Place de Clichy about a 3 minute walk away, and surrounded by cafes, bars and corner shops). However, the room was small - I think the bathroom was bigger! - and it's so noisy! Not only could we hear the water system from the room above, as well as on both sides, we could also hear the receptionist talking in the lobby, and the breakfast room clattering away in the mornings. Luckily we were up early both days, and only returned late at night.

The receptionists were friendly, spoke English, and were knowledgeable about which metro lines were disrupted that day to help us get to the airport in good time.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaqkgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

A good value for money, but remember earplugs as you can easily hear your neighbours. It is very noisy. But you can see the Liege Metro as soon as you walk out the door and it takes app. 2 minutes to walk there. You can also walk to Moulin Rouge and Montmartre within 10 minutes. The hotel is still under renovation, but we neither heard nor saw the builders. The rooms are rather small and there is a tv and a fridge, but that is it. We stayed there for 4 nights and will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We went to Paris for the last weekend in October 2010 and stayed at this hotel for one night. Although it is only a 3 star, for the price we paid I expected this to be on the higher end of the 3 star spectrum. I can't fault the location, nice and clean district, half way between Opera and Montmartre and somehow quiet and peaceful.

The hotel seems to have recently undegone a bit of refurbishment. The outside of the buiding, the reception and breakfast area are quite new, but expect disappointment when you go up to your room. It looks like they have started updating the furniture, the bed was new and quite comfy, but they badly need to replace the carpet update the bathroom and paint the room. I could have lived with that if the room had been clean, but unfortunately the carpet and the walls were filthy and the room was very dusty.

If you are in Paris for a short time and not planning to spend much time in the hotel, you might be fine with this place, but it's pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,062 of 1,801 in Paris
324 reviews
New Hotel Saint Lazare
#1,445 of 1,801 in Paris
368 reviews
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#1,010 of 1,801 in Paris
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Lafayette
Hotel Opera Lafayette
#1,251 of 1,801 in Paris
328 reviews
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,036 of 1,801 in Paris
677 reviews
Alexandrine Opera
#1,153 of 1,801 in Paris
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Opera

Property: New Hotel Opera
Address: 4 rue de Liege, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,266 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Neo-Classic Hotel in a 6-story building dating from 1756. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing