We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, clean, safe and fun hostel in decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #6 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good quality, clean, safe and fun hostel in decent location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The St Christopher's Canal Paris hostel is located about 7 mins. walk from Laumiere metro station (zone 1). The area is so-and-so, a bit of a poorer part of Paris and not necessarily with the most interesting sights around, however, it feels safe enough. I can imagine though that a single young female traveller might not feel too safe walking there at night time (there were quite some dodgy looking youngsters hanging around bars on the street).

The hostel itself is one of the best ones in which I have stayed. Staff is very nice and helpful, especially the Dutch guy behind reception. On the ground floor there is the bar that's open till late (it serves drinks and also food like burgers, hot dogs etc.). It has inside and outside sitting, directly on the Canal St. Martin, which is a good feature. There is a sitting area with computers and lockers too. The rooms are spacious enough and have big windows that open to a shared balcony. It is all kept very clean, incl. the showers and toilets. Every bed has a pull out space that you can put bags and other personal things in it and that you can lock. Don't forget to bring your own towel because the hostel charges 4 euros (!) non-refundable fee to rent a towel...

Reception can organize a free walking tour of Paris (I believe it runs every day at 10am from the hostel), airport shuttle at 18 euros each if there are more of you or 26 euros if you are solo, entrance tickets for Disney and other attractions.

All in all, very recommended if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hello,
Hi xxxxxx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue - it really helps us to improve on what we do. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff and that you appreciated our affordable prices and great value in a very expensive Paris market
We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve, so we genuinely will look forward to hearing your reply.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    485
    183
    55
    41
See reviews for
21
118
500
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here as a 10+ group. One of the rooms we booked stunk of sewerage when my guests entered the room, the hostel were quite good about the situation and offered an alternative however I am still (2 months later) try to get my money back from head office. I am very frustrated and annoyed with the company. I wish I paid more and stayed somewhere a little better.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Public Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi,
Thanks a lot for your feedback. We always do our best to make everybody's stay as fun and comfortable as possible and we can learn a lot from your experience with us. That's why we appreciate that you took the time to reply.
We're sorry to to hear that your stay wasn't as expected.We also appreciate that you agreed with the solution we proposed you as an alternative. As regarding your refund from our head office we will certainly made a hard push so it can be done within this coming week.
I would like to apologize for this delay.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed with friends in a room of 6 it was really good we had the top floor in the corner we had a view of the Eiffel tower. the room was very clean they changed the bin and cleaned the toilet every day. the beds were good the curtains was good keep out the light. the Wi-Fi was really good.the toilet was not very big but it was good for 4 nights the shower was a really good.The bar was really good it was good fun to be in and it was good to meet new people the food was nice and they were big portions for the price. the metro station was across the road witch was good for travel. every thing was in walking distance there was a take-ways shop next to the hostel but it wasn't very nice to go out at night. it was a really good place to stay with friends.

Room Tip: the top rooms were really good it was on the roof there was no noise and its a good room for a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us.
We always do our best to make everybody's stay as fun and comfortable as possible and that is also why it's really great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a nice hostel! The rooms are beautiful and new and the beds have a locker bellow and a curtain to give you some privacy. It has a good bar and this is it, because I didn't find too much things to be close to the hostel by night. The region is beautiful, but I prefer to be closer to the night buzz...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us.
We were happy to hear that you have enjoyed our hostel's facilties,as for the night buzz our location is just about 15 to 20 minutes away from most exicting pubs and bars of Paris meaning Red district,Grand boulevards and Champs Elysees.Maybe for a first time he can seem a long way for new comers.

Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great place to go if you like the party! the bar is really good and had tons of fun! Perfect to meet new people!
I didnt like the location as is a bit far from all touristic places, though, you have metro pretty close. Rooms are prety big but the hostel wasnt very clean! it seems that is a bit old or not really well conservated!
The staff was nice and helpful and the breakfast was very good!
If I go back to Paris I will go to the other St. christopher, is newer and I guess that is better

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue - it really helps us to improve on what we do. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff.
As for the cleanliness be assured that we will have the process reviewed with ours housekeeping to make sure that area is up to our hight standars of customers services.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve.
Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

For me this hostel reached almost perfection! Good price for great quality rooms, perfectly maintained bathrooms, great breakfast and awesome parties! Really nice atmosphere and great international staff! And all that in one of Europe's most beautiful towns! How great is that?! If you are looking for a place in Paris! Go St Christophers Inn Canal! You won't regret it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve, so we genuinely will look forward to hearing your reply.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#273 of 1,801 in Paris
1,008 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 170 in Paris
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing