We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fun atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located a bit away from the center of Paris. I walked all the way downtown, some of the areas on the way are a bit dicey (especially late at night). Very close to the metro lines and not far from Gare du Nord.

The price is good for Paris. Rooms were nice, the computer lounge area is very active. Rooms have private curtains, which is nice.

Drinks at the on-site bar are expensive, walk to the nearby mart and pick up drinks there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Loved it: good ratio quality/price, friendly staff, great atmosphere, nice food, everything was kept clean and respectful. I got injured during my visit in Paris and they helped me at all times and even gave me a free drink. Totally coming back there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a good hostel. It was decently priced. The beds and bathrooms are clean. The breakfast included with the hostel was very delicious. It had a bar downstairs that was fun to go to as well. Average location--the metro was needed to go places, but it wasn't a big deal. Good hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here recently as a group of four and LOVED it! The staff were incredibly nice, the beds were very comfortable, the place was very clean and it was a decent sized apartment for six adults and luggage, the entrance always smelled wonderful!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aill90cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a buddy in a double room, compared to some other Paris hostels the beds weren't awful. However, US two guys got shoved into a women's only hall and were only allowed to use a handicap bathroom, which had a funky smell and was often covered with long black hairs, the bathroom also had no shower curtain and being for people of different levels of ability, no divider of the shower and so was often completely covered in moisture. The shower would also clog within the 10 second spray time of the shower.

Worst part was the anticipation of free shots and being told of a choice of buttermilk schnapps and buttermilk schnapps by a gnarly, dreadlocked, irritating Aussie bartender who, maybe out of sheer jadedness from working the hostel scene for two long, or just lacking any sense of how preposterous and disgusting that is, seemed to accept this as an acceptable drink to serve.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bahuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were a class of 9 travelling to Paris, and St Christopher Inn were a perfect place.
It's really perfect for young students with a lot of social games and things to do in the evening. Also it's close to the metro, so it's easy to see Paris.

We also used Parc de buttes-chaumont that is about a five minute walk from the hostel. Its so beautiful and a good place for a jog or other workouts. Recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kaja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The St Christopher's Canal Paris hostel is located about 7 mins. walk from Laumiere metro station (zone 1). The area is so-and-so, a bit of a poorer part of Paris and not necessarily with the most interesting sights around, however, it feels safe enough. I can imagine though that a single young female traveller might not feel too safe walking there at night time (there were quite some dodgy looking youngsters hanging around bars on the street).

The hostel itself is one of the best ones in which I have stayed. Staff is very nice and helpful, especially the Dutch guy behind reception. On the ground floor there is the bar that's open till late (it serves drinks and also food like burgers, hot dogs etc.). It has inside and outside sitting, directly on the Canal St. Martin, which is a good feature. There is a sitting area with computers and lockers too. The rooms are spacious enough and have big windows that open to a shared balcony. It is all kept very clean, incl. the showers and toilets. Every bed has a pull out space that you can put bags and other personal things in it and that you can lock. Don't forget to bring your own towel because the hostel charges 4 euros (!) non-refundable fee to rent a towel...

Reception can organize a free walking tour of Paris (I believe it runs every day at 10am from the hostel), airport shuttle at 18 euros each if there are more of you or 26 euros if you are solo, entrance tickets for Disney and other attractions.

All in all, very recommended if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHRISTHOSTEL, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello,
Hi xxxxxx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue - it really helps us to improve on what we do. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff and that you appreciated our affordable prices and great value in a very expensive Paris market
We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve, so we genuinely will look forward to hearing your reply.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £16 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing