We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first 2 nights of an interrailing trip with 5 friends. The hostel was easy to find and the room was basic, but adequate. Food served in the bar was very nice and the free breakfast was good. However, the hostel is located a fair distance away from most of the main tourist attractions (we got on the metro). Also, one of the 2 sinks in out 6 bed room was blocked and there was an awful smell on the 5th floor!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank nick_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Nick,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback, and we're so glad you had a great time with us! Unfortunately we were experiencing some water issue's on the 5th floor during your stay and we apologise for the inconvenience, however this issue has now been sorted! We wish you all the best for your travels and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at St. Christopher's for 4 nights in Paris. Immediately when I walked in I knew this was a place for fun. The bar downstairs was always packed, especially since the World Cup was taking place. The bartender was so much fun (lots of free drinks and good conversation). I went to the club downstairs one night when there was not many people. It was still a really fun time; dance music and drinks with new friends. The rooms were fine, I really enjoyed having the personal curtain. The bathroom was alright, definitely what I'd expect for a hostel. The BEST part was meeting so many different people. This is definitely a social hostel. The hostel offers a free walking tour which was great. Very knowledgable and engaging tour guides and it's also where I met most of my friends for the following few days. It was a bit far from the center of Paris but close to a metro stop which made transportation very easy. If you want a clean and social hostel for a pretty good price, this is your spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Eva,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your time with us at St Christopher's! We absolutely pride ourselves on being a social hostel and love hearing the experiences solo travellers have with our staff and other hostellers. We very much hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel is a good bargain. The bar is good. Has great food. The staff is friendly enough. There was one lady, especially helpful. She had dark hair. The wifi was TERRIBLE. the bathrooms and showers were decent. VERY HARD to get a taxi anywhere near the hostel. As other people have mentioned, its far from the city. room was clean. ive stayed at worse places. Wouldnt mind staying with St. Christophers in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank summer9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your time with us at St Christopher's, we really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you would consider staying with us again in the future!

Best wishes,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at St christophers for only one of our four nights in Paris as it was expensive. However you get what you pay for; we had a spacious, clean room with a balcony and great view of the canal. There was a big bar area downstairs which had a full food menu and cheap drinks which was great. It would of been a good place to meet people if we had more time. It is far from the city centre and attractions but I think there is a metro stop close by (didn't have a chance to figure that out). Great wifi. Would reccomend if you're willing to catch public transport to see anything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Sophie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay with us at St Christopher's. We very much hope you will stay with us again in the future and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is definitely a party atmosphere hostel. Our room was great but there was an awful smell in the hall... Not sure if it came from toeing so close to the water. It didn't smell in our room so we were fine!. The hostel has a great bar and was packed in the night.. Bring ear plugs and you will be fine! Staff was helpful and the food was good! Big rooms! We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Sara-Ashley,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at St Christopher's. We're so glad you had such a fantastic time and would recommend us to others, we very much look forward to having you stay with us again soon. In regard to the smell you were referring we had a small water leakage problem in one of the hallways which has now been fixed, regardless we're sorry for the inconvenience! And don't forget we have free earplugs for all our guests at reception just in case your roommate's a snorer!

Best wishes,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is relatively clean. Helpful to have laundry on site too.
It's nice to have a restaurant on site, but the food was mediocre at best (the complimentary breakfast was also just ok).
The beds are VERY uncomfortable, I had back-pain for days following my stay.
Nice to have wifi, but you get that anywhere really.
Staff was just alright: not overly nice or knowledgeable, but not idiots either.
Lots of early-20s guests, so if you want to party or meet fellow tourists you would be good to go here.
Close to transit too, which is required because you're not close to the city centre of main attractions in this location.

Overall it wasn't horrible. You get what you pay for. I would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jessicawaters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at St Christopher's. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback you provided. We are always looking to improve our services and facilities and hope you will consider staying with us during your future travels across Europe.

Best wishes,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hostel was great- very clean and run by very friendly staff who are travellers themselves so it is very easy to get along with them! We arrived in the evening, dumped our bags in our dorm and went down to the bar for some food and drinks. As we were staying in the hostel, we got a discount on our food and drink which was fantastic as my friend and I were travelling on a budget. On top of that, the portions were very generous!
The staff were extremely friendly and were interesting to talk to as they were not from Paris themselves. There was a very good atmosphere in the bar.
The hostel is located near a canal which is nice. It is not that near the city centre but this was expected considering Paris is huge. We had to get two metros to get to the touristy sites and the main walking area of Paris. At first the Metro is quite confusing but after a few trips it becomes a bit more familiar. Just keep your bag close to you and zipped up as it gets very busy and there are pick-pocketers everywhere.
One of the only negatives I have is that once you check out, you have to pay to keep your luggage in the luggage room and it is quite expensive. The lockers come in 3 sizes and even the biggest one only just about fit two backpacks in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi there Charlotte,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of your stay with us in Paris! It's fantastic to hear you had a great time with us, and we sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £16 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing