We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, kind of fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #7 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, kind of fun”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

- There's a lively pub scene downstairs
- Staff are helpful and knowledgeable

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealjking_njk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    484
    180
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
119
491
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We stayed here for three nights in a double room. We were given a room on the top floor overlooking the canal - the Notre Dame room. Rooms were clean and functional. Shower turns off every 30 seconds for water but that's typical of hostels. Breakfast is baguettes and spreads with tea coffee, juice. Belushi's Bar downstairs is a great bar, providing great food at a good price and banging out some great tunes. Below the bar is a nightclub where they apparently have great DJs. Lots of locals hanging out at Belushi's as well, not just backpackers. Location is a little out of the way but the Metro is nearby and it's only 5 or 6 stops until the sights. Free wifi. We loved it here - we don't usually do hostels but this was much better than staying in a three star hotel. Heaps more atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed here with a friend in September 2008 - it was a brilliant hostel! Considering the prices around, we got a brilliant deal. The location was great - close to 2 train lines to the city. Plenty of workable computers in the internet cafe. The bar was brilliant, with cheap as chips drinks and a great place to socialise and meet new people. Rooms were clean and it was brilliant to be able to lock your suitcase under the bed - nice and easy. Felt safe. Bathrooms were average, but they're never super in hostels.
We had a great time here and would definitely stay here again if travelling on a budget in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

St Christopher's was a second choice after the hotel we'd planned to stay at massively raised its prices - but I'm glad it did!

I travelled with a university group as a member of staff and have to say it is a great atmosphere for that age-range.

The rooms were clean, spacious and comfy. The bar downstairs was great. Navigating from one area of the hostel to the other can be difficult because of the way the floors/access is laid out.

If you are planning on getting there by coach be warned - the parking along the roads leading to can make it virtually impossible to get to - we ended up driving the wrong way down a one-way street to get there which didn't endear us to the locals.

Speaking of which, there are good local transport facilities and lots of nice cake shops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Just a quick thank you to all the staff at St Christopher's - Paris. They looked after us from start to finish and were super helpful with great directions and tips on things to do. The hostel is located along the canal and the ride from there into town via the Bastille Markets is not to be missed!

We rented bikes from Fat Tire and joined their tours and biking around is just the best - also a great way to burn off the 3 cheese baguette that beacme our staple. Be sure to check out the Boulangerie at the end of Rue de Crimee - near the metro and be sure to head up to Parc de Butte Chamont - amazing. Thank you for making our stay so easy and enjoyable. The Flea Market tip was awesome - loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughseasdivide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima - Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

The hostel is great, it has a beautifull view, you can see the canal and the Seine river, the architecture is nice and modern. I stayed there for 4 days, my friend and I booked the mixed dorm with ten beds. When we arrived the receptionist told us that we have to stay the first 2 days in room 404 and then we had to move to another room on the 5th floor, so in the second day we left the room, put our luggage in receptionist area, and later moved to the other room!!!!! Inside the room I didn´t get a connection to the internet, so I had to bring my laptop to the lobby room (freee high speed internet). The rooms are comfortable and clean; the sheets, pillow and bedspread are white, also the bedspread has goose feather. They had a sink and mirrors.The beds have curtains and have an individual light . Each room and passage has heater. The hostel has 4 bathrooms for each floor: 2 individual bathrooms (sink, wc and shower) located on the middle, female and male bathrooms located at each end of corridor. The individual bathroom smells. The lockers beneath the bed are useful, so bring a large padlock, but has a terrible noise. The breakfast was regular; you can get milk, coffee, orange juice, bread (baguette), butter or jam. If you are hungry you can go to a bakery (boulangerie), that is very close from the hostel, and buy a delicious sandwich, croisant and tasty pastries!!
There are two metro stations (Crimee and Laumiere), Laumiere is 5 minutes away and Crimee 2 minutes.
If you want to go the center (main tourist attraction, for example Louvre museum, Eifell tower, champ elysees) is 45 minutes by metro.
The staff is very friendly, they gave you great advices and tourist information guide. Also you can meet a lot of people there, specially if you go to the bar (Belushi), it was opened until 2 pm and gave a special offer in drinks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty_T_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

budget travel at its best. room are clean, staff friendly, vibe great with lots of young travellers. a tad out of the way but manageable with Metro

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#887 of 1,798 in Paris
435 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
760 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#11 of 155 in Paris
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing