We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #6 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern Hostel”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This hostel is not in the most central location however it is very close to 3 different metro lines. It is nice & new and right on a scenic canal, with a supermarket, post office, atm's & bakeries a short walk away. The food at the bar is fine, not fancy or traditional french but perfect if you're on a budget or don't want to eat out anywhere, and they have a drink special every night. We never heard any noise from the nightclub downstairs. There is plenty of internet access, a good atmosphere and the staff are helpful. I highly recommend doing the free Paris walking tour which you can get info about from the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonkey_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    486
    180
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
119
497
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This is a big clean hostel with a nice bar & restaurant.

The only downside is the location. The suburb is not very exciting and anything of excitement will require a walk to the metro and then a train ride.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I stayed here twice, once when I arrived in France and the last night before I left. While it is a bit expensive for the average backpacker, it was worth it. The dorm rooms have a great set up. Like a train, each bed has a small light and shelf and there are curtains to pull across at night so even if someone comes into the room you aren't bothered by the light. Dorms also have lockers (bring your own lock) and sinks with mirrors. Shared bathrooms and showers are pretty standard and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Overall, I was pleased with this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

So this place was out of the way, the metro is about a 5 min walk and it's at least another 20 min metro ride to the major sights. When I arrived, we got into our room (double and sharing a bathroom) the room smelled like smoke which was sick, but the bed was comfy, looked clean and the room has a mirror and sink in it, which is nice. I felt like the bathrooms were a joke. It looked like the toilet areas were always clean but there were 3 showers. My first night here, I discovered that the first shower's drain wasn't working properly so it flooded, the second one only had scalding hot water, and the last one was just gross. It's like the girls on the floor were playing some kind of sick joke, "who can sick as much hair on the walls as possible" the first day I showered in it there was a couple clumps of hair, and 2 days later, it was bigger! They were never cleaned (obviously) Make sure you bring flip flops because this was the worst part.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

- There's a lively pub scene downstairs
- Staff are helpful and knowledgeable

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealjking_njk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We stayed here for three nights in a double room. We were given a room on the top floor overlooking the canal - the Notre Dame room. Rooms were clean and functional. Shower turns off every 30 seconds for water but that's typical of hostels. Breakfast is baguettes and spreads with tea coffee, juice. Belushi's Bar downstairs is a great bar, providing great food at a good price and banging out some great tunes. Below the bar is a nightclub where they apparently have great DJs. Lots of locals hanging out at Belushi's as well, not just backpackers. Location is a little out of the way but the Metro is nearby and it's only 5 or 6 stops until the sights. Free wifi. We loved it here - we don't usually do hostels but this was much better than staying in a three star hotel. Heaps more atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed here with a friend in September 2008 - it was a brilliant hostel! Considering the prices around, we got a brilliant deal. The location was great - close to 2 train lines to the city. Plenty of workable computers in the internet cafe. The bar was brilliant, with cheap as chips drinks and a great place to socialise and meet new people. Rooms were clean and it was brilliant to be able to lock your suitcase under the bed - nice and easy. Felt safe. Bathrooms were average, but they're never super in hostels.
We had a great time here and would definitely stay here again if travelling on a budget in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#901 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 161 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing