We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High hopes... not what I had hoped though.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Pates vivantes

Les Pates vivantes
Ranked #2,201 of 16,718 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$16 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“High hopes... not what I had hoped though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I found Pates Vivantes after doing a search for unique things to do in Paris. After seeing the explanation, I couldn't wait to surprise my wife with my findings... living noodles, dinner and show...

We finally found the restaurant after a bit of searching, and walked in to an unimpressive setting. It was a quite crowded little space with an upstairs. After waiting to be received, which never happened, we asked if we could head upstairs to find a seat, which they allowed. I only asked to sit upstairs because I was hoping there was more action going up there since there was very little noodle-making madness going on downstairs.

To my chagrine, upstairs had nothing of the sort. We found a seat and waited for service, and again, were sorely disappointed. The waitress was far from helpful, terribly uninterested, and made no effort in making us feel comfortable. Mind you, neither of us speak good French or Chinese, but some sort of courtesy would have been nice.

We both ordered noodle bowls, which were not bad, decently spiced, but nothing too impressive. The noodles, however, were indeed delicious. The bowls could have used more flavor in the meats and sauces, and the prices were high for such simple dishes. It seems such is the case with most French restaurants on this trip though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    177
    53
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice, but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had heard great things about this place and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. The place is very lively, and I loved being able to see the preparation of the noodles, the kneading and rolling is quite a show! The portions are huge and thus good value for money but not as tasty as I had expected. We ordered a few starters which were small, but fresh and tasty. The noodle dishes were actually like two portions each, but unfortunately a bit bland and boring. The place was super busy and the stuff a bit stressed but overall a nice experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“les pates vivantes not so vivant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went out of our way to find les pates vivantes (there are several streets bearing the name "faubourg" in the marais district.) The scent of sesame oil + star anise gave us high hopes, but I have to say, we were quite disappointed with what we ordered. I ordered the sautéed noodles + veg + chicken, my husband ordered the sautéed noodles + veg + beef. The noodles were ample and nicely drenched in sauce, but there were very few vegetables, and the meat was bland...both the chicken and the beef could definitely have been improved with marination and/or a good deep braise. Juxtaposed with the saucy noodles, the meat just tasted bland and boiled. Asian flavours are always right with a balance of sweet, salty, sour, spicy...and somehow the vibrance and balance just wasn't there. I grew tired of eating the noodles without a generous enough counterpoint of vegetables and flavourful meat. I kept thinking that a slight hint of sour and some ginger and coriander would have helped. We agree with the comments from others regarding service. We ordered well in advance of a table that was seated after us. They received their food well before us and we were just given a sharp directive to wait. But, it was fun to watch the noodlemaker shave the noodles. At 12 euros per dish, it was over-priced...but we have to remember this is Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chinese food, reasonable priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Dying for Chinese food after a week of French. Small, busy restaurant. Staff only speaks French and Mandarin Chinese (and very little English). Menu had pictures and I was able to order pot stickers and noodle soup. Both were very good. Accepts credit card for amounts over 15 euros. Very fast service. AC is on low so it was a little warm upstairs. I had spicy noodles so was sweating in my business attire.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TChan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Excellent hand made noodles. Big dishes and lots of taste, food was so good we had to come back another day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lasse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Pates vivantes also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Pates vivantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing