We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grandeur of Paris'history”
Review of Le Train Bleu

Le Train Bleu
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Train Bleu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #589 of 17,405 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$77 - US$106
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bercy / Nation
Description: Listed historical monument inside the station at the first floor, the restaurant "Le Train Bleu" is opened every day for lunch and dinner. Breakfast are served in the bar lounges all the day
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The grandeur of Paris'history”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoy the grandeur of the Paris fin de siècle with an affordable lunch. The most impressive décor makes you think that this is a very expensive restaurant but this isn't so. The dishes on the menu are normally priced. The service is rather cold

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainBleu S, Responsable commercial at Le Train Bleu, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear client,
We thank you for writing your comment on this site, and we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied by your previous meal in our restaurant. Indeed the satisfaction of our client is our main aim and we will share it with our team. Concerning the service we will endeavour to be "warmer". We are actually closed for renovation works and we would be pleased to welcoming next mont after our reopening. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,684
    1,419
    559
    266
    157
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A special experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped off here for lunch (I'd booked ahead online) on our way from St Pancras to Turin. We arrived with all our luggage in tow: this was whisked away by the staff - obviously well-used to dealing with this problem. We were in our rather crumpled travelling clothes in amongst Parisian chic and business suits, but there was no Parisian snootiness. The setting is spectacular - Belle Epoque ornamentation; florid murals of destinations; gilt and brass and mirrors; mermaids and caryatids. The food we had was excellent; also the wine. Good service. Thoroughly excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very poor food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having dined there on several occasions in the past and had a good albeit expensive meal, I decided to take my family there for my 60th birthday.
I have to say that the place is spectacular hence the 3* on my rating.
But and it's a big BUT the food was at best very very poor for about £100+ a head should have be very good. Service was just about ok.
My advice would be to all that might be thinking of going just go for a drink soak up the wonderful atmosphere then spend your food monies in another restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainBleu S, Responsable commercial at Le Train Bleu, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear client,
We thank you for letting your comment on this site and we are sorry to read that you did'nt enjoy our food during your last meal in our restaurant in August 2013. We hope that we will regain your confidence. We inform you that you will be closed all this summer and we will reopen in mid-sepember with a new carte. We look forward to welcoming you soon
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful; but pricey; not for 'on the run'”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a spectacularly beautiful, old place. We had a bit of a 'layover' in the late afternoon until our train departed so it was a nice place to enjoy a break. It is a full service dining experience. Not a place to 'grab and go'. We had a Champagne toast (pricey) but didn't order any food as there wasn't a 'snack' menu. Although it's in the train station, it's not a convenient, quick stop. You need to plan to have enough time to enjoy the dining experience. Next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bendigo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came across this spectacular restaurant by chance and are so glad we did. We were blown away by the opulence of the rooms, it was like stepping back in time. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the theatre of the waiters serving the meals to all the diners. We were there back in 2007 for my 40th and they made us so welcome, even my two young sons. We were a bit self-conscious because we really weren't dressed for the occasion, we had only dropped in to Gare de Lyon to look at the TGV's!! It didn't matter at all as we were treated so well. We have been back two more times, the most recent in 2011 with an 18 month old as well. The gentleman waiter was so kind to my baby son as well as my two older sons, bringing additional food for them all that he thought they might enjoy, and chatting to them whenever he came by. It made the whole evening so wonderful. We have recommended this place to everyone we know who have travelled to Paris. We simply love it. (ps date on form re 'when did you visit', didn't extend back to 2011 only 2013 so disregard!!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cinemagirlBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Train Bleu also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Train Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing