We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grande throwback” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Train Bleu

Le Train Bleu
Reserve with
Le Train Bleu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #535 of 16,719 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$66 - US$132
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Bercy / Nation
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Grande throwback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

After 3 days in Paris averaging 10 miles of walking per day (and 106 flights of stairs - up - on day 3), DH and I decided to take it easy on our last half-day, before our 2pm TGV to Lyon. So we slept in, checked out, and grabbed a quick café before hopping the metro with our luggage to the Gare, to enjoy a long, leisurely lunch at le Train Bleu.

We had been warned it would be overpriced... but what they heck, it's an experience.

It was not the best food we had in France, but it was certainly very, very good food, with nice typical menu (Prix fixe) options elegantly presented. The front desk checked our luggage for us, and seated us with minimal difficulty, even though we didn't have a reservation.
Amid all the modern high speed trains, this restaurant is a throwback to the days when rail was the only way to travel. High vaulted ceilings covered in detailed murals, fancy booths.. If you can afford the time for a proper multi-course meal, and the splurge (average maybe 120-50 euro for a couple), it's certainly a delightful experience to imagine yourself back in the train station's heyday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tishabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,558
    1,306
    504
    241
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The grandeur of Paris'history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoy the grandeur of the Paris fin de siècle with an affordable lunch. The most impressive décor makes you think that this is a very expensive restaurant but this isn't so. The dishes on the menu are normally priced. The service is rather cold

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainBleu S, Responsable commercial at Le Train Bleu, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear client,
We thank you for writing your comment on this site, and we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied by your previous meal in our restaurant. Indeed the satisfaction of our client is our main aim and we will share it with our team. Concerning the service we will endeavour to be "warmer". We are actually closed for renovation works and we would be pleased to welcoming next mont after our reopening. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped off here for lunch (I'd booked ahead online) on our way from St Pancras to Turin. We arrived with all our luggage in tow: this was whisked away by the staff - obviously well-used to dealing with this problem. We were in our rather crumpled travelling clothes in amongst Parisian chic and business suits, but there was no Parisian snootiness. The setting is spectacular - Belle Epoque ornamentation; florid murals of destinations; gilt and brass and mirrors; mermaids and caryatids. The food we had was excellent; also the wine. Good service. Thoroughly excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having dined there on several occasions in the past and had a good albeit expensive meal, I decided to take my family there for my 60th birthday.
I have to say that the place is spectacular hence the 3* on my rating.
But and it's a big BUT the food was at best very very poor for about £100+ a head should have be very good. Service was just about ok.
My advice would be to all that might be thinking of going just go for a drink soak up the wonderful atmosphere then spend your food monies in another restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainBleu S, Responsable commercial at Le Train Bleu, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear client,
We thank you for letting your comment on this site and we are sorry to read that you did'nt enjoy our food during your last meal in our restaurant in August 2013. We hope that we will regain your confidence. We inform you that you will be closed all this summer and we will reopen in mid-sepember with a new carte. We look forward to welcoming you soon
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
228 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful; but pricey; not for 'on the run'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a spectacularly beautiful, old place. We had a bit of a 'layover' in the late afternoon until our train departed so it was a nice place to enjoy a break. It is a full service dining experience. Not a place to 'grab and go'. We had a Champagne toast (pricey) but didn't order any food as there wasn't a 'snack' menu. Although it's in the train station, it's not a convenient, quick stop. You need to plan to have enough time to enjoy the dining experience. Next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Train Bleu also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Train Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing