We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottima location & concept”
Review of Solar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solar Hotel
Ranked #853 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Gennaro Collodi, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ottima location & concept”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at end of June 2012. We booked 3 rooms. We found the hotel to be good value for money considering the cost of Parisian hotels,the rooms were nice, clean and looked out over the pretty courtyard and Paris rooftops. Amazing experience

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    105
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
95
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for one night at end of July 2012. We booked 2 rooms. We found the hotel to be good value for money considering the cost of Parisian hotels but if you're expecting glamour and glitz then you'll be disappointed. The rooms were basic but clean and both looked out over the pretty courtyard and Paris rooftops. The area around the hotel is nice, with some good bars and restaurants and shops and it is very close to both rail networks. Breakfast was adequate to start the day, just croissants and bread, juice and coffee. The bed was reasonably comfortable but not that wide. Free bikes to use if you fancy taking on the Parisian traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel as I've heard they'll sometimes overbook and put people in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, the price is really great for central Paris (69 euros for a single/double).
Breakfast is included in the price and it is good (1 croissant, 1/4 baguette, butter and jam, and jug of organic apple juice, plus tea or coffee). Rooms are small but fine, since in Paris I really don't need to lounge in the room. Bathroom was also fine, actually lovely blue mosaic tiles.
The hotel is located just around the corner from Rue Daguerre, a lovely Parisian street with fruit stands and cheese monger shop and other nice food shops. Also close to a cinema, and lots of restaurants. Very convenient for the RER B line that takes you to Charles de Gaulle airport.
I will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms that face the garden, as the street gets a bit noisy twice a week early mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, IT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights, and was very attracted to the price and to the concept the hotel presents. When getting here, I was a bit disappointed. I didn't like the atmosphere of the place, I wasn't getting good vibes. The rooms are basic, but didn't seem extremely clean. The floors definitely needed to be vacuumed and the blanket definitely needed to be washed.

The internet in the rooms does not work well at all so I spent a lot of time in the dining room on the main floor. It is here where I got the final disappointment..

On the first night I was sitting using the internet when I saw little MICE running around. Sad to say I was more on edge than I was before.

The breakfast is simple, and I definitely wished their was a bit more of variety. Especially by day 3.
Its not a crummy place, but it can use some restorations and changes.
I really liked the neighborhood it was in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzelaya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

this unique concept of ecology hotel with cheap price in strategic area made this hotel always occupied

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aracaju, SE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed there with my mother and my brother in the family room. It's a huge room very clean and with confortable beds. The area in which it is located is very french. I loved it. It is near a metro station and around lots of brasseries, restaurants, markets. I'm going to Paris again this year and I'm staying at Solar Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isalins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. Croissant for breakfast was good but we got tired eating the same breakfast on our third day. A staff (an old man with glasses) on duty at night was very helpful and friendly and we were able to practice some French. There were two computers near the cafe for public use (FOC) but one of them could not display/load images properly. The hotel is very near to the metro station, Denfert-Rochereau (look for the exit to Rue Daguerre, it's much nearer compared to other exits). There were some fruit and vegetable stalls on Rue Daguerre. We enjoy having fresh berries throughout our stay as they are so much cheaper compared to those sold in Malaysia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatPLAYloveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#601 of 1,802 in Paris
437 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#500 of 1,802 in Paris
128 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Du Midi Paris Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#574 of 1,802 in Paris
669 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
#1,339 of 1,802 in Paris
104 reviews
Montparnasse
Helzear Montparnasse Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Hotel

Property: Solar Hotel
Address: 22 rue Boulard | 14th Arr, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Paris
#60 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89€ for both single and double rooms Solar Hotel is the first low-cost urban ecological hotel. In this spirit we have a single price for all our rooms and it includes not only breakfast but also access to computers, internet, phones and bicycles. 89€ for either a single or a double room, with absolutely everything included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Solar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Voyageurs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing