We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a backpacker”
Review of Hotel Viator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viator
Ranked #1,643 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for a backpacker”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This might not be the place for someone on that amazing honeymoon or the person wanting the once in a lifetime Paris experience but for me the Hotel Viator worked just fine. I was on a backpacking trip and didn't want to blow the budget on an expensive hotel. The hotel was located in the 17th Arrondissement; this may not be the prime tourist spot, but I thought the location was great. You get the Parisian neighborhood feel, you are within walking distance of Montmartre and next to Brochant metro station which will puts you in the heart of Paris in minutes.

As for the hotel itself I found the downsides to be the lack of air condition which would make things a bit rough on Summer nights and the fact that were only two public toilets on each floor. The staff was awesome, they gave me deals on the Wifi making my wifi next to free. I would personally have zero qualms about staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmethekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    15
    34
    21
    37
See reviews for
10
46
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were visiting Paris for 4 days and only thing we did in Viator was sleeping so I didn't really 'enjoy' the 'goods' of that hostel. Viator is placed in a quite noisy neighbourhood of Paris but if you ain't an old grandma you wouldnt mind that at all. I think that standards of that hostel are reasonable for the price so can't really complain. Hostel is running by a group of arabs and they were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Hotel Viator, is yet another one of the very poorly designed and constructed hotels that are so common in Paris. Whether you want to or not, you will participate in the life of the whole hotel. Doors banging, you can follow conversations next to you, or on op of you.Sleep will not be done on your terms.Ah, Paris - there is only one - maybe just as well...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Unfortunately for me, there are two "Hotel Viator"s in Paris. One is a three star hotel on Rue Parrot, which has some lovely reviews, and the other is this one. I was lucky enough to read the reviews for the former while booking the latter. Oh dear. Firstly, the rooms are tiny. And filthy. The duvet cover was so dirty that my girlfriend and I had to throw it on the floor and buy a blanket in a shop. Although wifi is advertised, you have to pay for it. This is almost forgiveable in comparison with the fact that they also charge for the shower, which is on the ground floor. To be fair, some of the staff were friendly and it is very close to the Brochant metro stop, but aside from that this hotel was absolutely terrible. I guess you get what you pay for, if you see a hotel that is cheaper than a hostel, there's usually a damn good reason why.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

relaxed staff. english is no problem.
nice area, a lot of shops and restaurants, close to a metro station and the center; only 15 minutes walking to the Moulin Rouge.
Basicially clean (we have seen only 1 spider during our 6-days stay) but one shower was molded.
Same price as a hostel but you've got more privacy.
=> good cost-benefit ratio. convenient stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Till L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone,families,solo travellers,group of friends or couples who are all travelling on a tight budget.There were ants in our room,our towels were left on the floor only to find that the cleaner just picked it up and put it back on the towel rack & we were staying there for 5 nights and our sheets were not changed.The corridors of the hotel smelled musty & it was really noisy hotel,you can hear everything thats how thin the walls are.Its way too overpriced for the location and condition and service you get.I cant believe that hotels like this actually exist in a city like Paris!!!!Rather pay abit more for a better hotel and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Ants in the room, smelly in the room as well in the corridors, they dont change the bedding daily as well as the towels, its not worth the price you pay even though we went for the cheapest option the bathroom was shared i would not recommend it at all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,531 of 1,801 in Paris
278 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,399 of 1,801 in Paris
143 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,453 of 1,801 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,521 of 1,801 in Paris
153 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,517 of 1,801 in Paris
166 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,033 of 1,801 in Paris
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator

Property: Hotel Viator
Address: 61 rue des Moines, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,643 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Viator 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing