We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob-CO-USA”
Review of Hotel Viator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viator
Ranked #1,638 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    15
    33
    21
    36
See reviews for
9
46
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

First, when I arrived - no hello - no welcome - no greeting - and the desk clerk couldn t find my booking. When i showed my confirmation, he yelled to someone in another room asking if they had changed their expedia password. After telling me I could have a room on the first floor, as I walk with a cane, I was then told it would be an extra 25 euros a night, because it had four beds. After complaining and whining a bit, the clerk gave in and said I could have the four bed room, if I only used one bed.
The room was freezing. Two bent out of shape wire coat hangers hung in the open shelf unit. The bathroom had half a roll of toilet paper and the shower appeared to have mould growing in the corners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricklion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

False advertising.. This "hotel" is nothing like the website describes. There is no 24 hour reception, we were locked out and reverted to banging on the door very loudly and screaming until a fellow occupant of the hotel came to open the door for us. The next day when we approached the concierge he told us we should have just "rang the bell" like that had never occurred to us?. After requesting them to review the security footage we were given 24 hour free Wi-Fi as a form of apology. To summarise you are better to sleep in a cardboard box.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiarajferrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This might not be the place for someone on that amazing honeymoon or the person wanting the once in a lifetime Paris experience but for me the Hotel Viator worked just fine. I was on a backpacking trip and didn't want to blow the budget on an expensive hotel. The hotel was located in the 17th Arrondissement; this may not be the prime tourist spot, but I thought the location was great. You get the Parisian neighborhood feel, you are within walking distance of Montmartre and next to Brochant metro station which will puts you in the heart of Paris in minutes.

As for the hotel itself I found the downsides to be the lack of air condition which would make things a bit rough on Summer nights and the fact that were only two public toilets on each floor. The staff was awesome, they gave me deals on the Wifi making my wifi next to free. I would personally have zero qualms about staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmethekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were visiting Paris for 4 days and only thing we did in Viator was sleeping so I didn't really 'enjoy' the 'goods' of that hostel. Viator is placed in a quite noisy neighbourhood of Paris but if you ain't an old grandma you wouldnt mind that at all. I think that standards of that hostel are reasonable for the price so can't really complain. Hostel is running by a group of arabs and they were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Hotel Viator, is yet another one of the very poorly designed and constructed hotels that are so common in Paris. Whether you want to or not, you will participate in the life of the whole hotel. Doors banging, you can follow conversations next to you, or on op of you.Sleep will not be done on your terms.Ah, Paris - there is only one - maybe just as well...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Unfortunately for me, there are two "Hotel Viator"s in Paris. One is a three star hotel on Rue Parrot, which has some lovely reviews, and the other is this one. I was lucky enough to read the reviews for the former while booking the latter. Oh dear. Firstly, the rooms are tiny. And filthy. The duvet cover was so dirty that my girlfriend and I had to throw it on the floor and buy a blanket in a shop. Although wifi is advertised, you have to pay for it. This is almost forgiveable in comparison with the fact that they also charge for the shower, which is on the ground floor. To be fair, some of the staff were friendly and it is very close to the Brochant metro stop, but aside from that this hotel was absolutely terrible. I guess you get what you pay for, if you see a hotel that is cheaper than a hostel, there's usually a damn good reason why.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,412 of 1,802 in Paris
140 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,384 of 1,802 in Paris
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,503 of 1,802 in Paris
159 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,041 of 1,802 in Paris
281 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,262 of 1,802 in Paris
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator

Property: Hotel Viator
Address: 61 rue des Moines, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,638 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Viator 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing